We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My only regret is that I didn't have a room on the back side of the hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Salem
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My only regret is that I didn't have a room on the back side of the hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed here during my visit to Natural Bridge (breathtakingly beautiful!) & Caverns. I was jealous of the ones who had rooms on the back side of the building because they had the best view of the mountains. However, if you went down to breakfast, or just stood in the lobby, the row of windows gave you a gorgeous panoramic view of those mountains, too. The room I had with the king bed (I brought my own pillows and body pillow, though) was spacious, clean and still new-feeling, despite being just over 2 years old, and I still had a view of some mountains from my window. The hotel is close to town, so there are plenty of restaurants, but if you prefer to buy your own groceries, there are four Krogers (unbelievable!) between the hotel and Tanglewood mall, all found along Electric Road, one of the main roads through town. I preferred my own microwaved breakfast in my room, so I can't comment about the breakfast they provided. I'd still recommend going for the view alone!

Only problem in the bathroom was the shower curtain that kept slipping open so that water made a puddle on the floor. I took care of the puddle, but did let the lady at the front desk know when I checked out. She apologized for the creeping shower curtain and said she'd have someone take care of it. I think it's was just the way the curtain rod was angled that made the curtain keep sliding open.

The hotel is very convenient to the interstate, not close enough to hear traffic, though. The air conditioner did make a faint hum, which I think might be tuned out by most so that it doesn't really disturb sleep.

Room Tip: A room closer to the ends of the building might be more convenient, if you don't mind taking sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear exploranda.

Thank you for the very detailed review of your stay at our hotel. We appreciate all that you wrote about the hotel. It gives us a very good idea of how our guests are feeling about their stay. The view from our hotel is breathtaking. We just wish that everyone in the hotel could have a beautiful view. We are sorry about the bathroom shower curtain. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. We have taken care of the problem. Our guest safety is very important to us.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    40
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
75
30
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was a relatively new hotel - which gives it a leg up on the majority of places out there. Located just outside of Roanoke, it's a pretty quick drive on the interstate from the airport - probably 15 minutes or so. It was clean, had plenty of plug-ins for my variety of gadgets, and the wifi signal was fairly strong. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Hawg97,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments, and will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Our hotel is ideally located. We hope that if you come to the area again that you will stay with us again.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vriginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Service was good. Room clean. Breakfast quite acceptable. This hotel is what one hopes for and expects from a Holiday Inn Express & Suites.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear worcchesterguy,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay to our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. We are glad that you felt that we are living up to our brand name. Thank you for telling us about the breakfast. We strive to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Have stayed here 3-4 times since it opened. Very accommodating staff. Rooms are standard HIE issue. Ditto breakfast. Altogether pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear James R,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. We hope that you will continue to be a guest at our hotel. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job.

Thanks again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

A very simple hotel with clean facilities, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and a great location. The room itself was spacious with comfy furniture and a great bed. My bathroom could have passed any white-glove test. Free Wi-Fi is only one of several amenities that any business or leisure traveler will appreciate. There's really not much more that needs to be said here. Stay for a night and see for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Alan L,
Thank you for telling us about your recent visit. We appreciate all of your comments that you made about your room. We will pass these great comments on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Travelled with my wife and granddaughter's Travel Volleyball Team. GM Janice worked with me to be sure my group was handled in a professional manner. Staffer Kristy was a joy to work with every time. The rooms were great, and spotlessly clean, the staff extremely helpful and the breakfast was tasty with many choices.
This hotel is very new and handy to everything in the area. We will return and will recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Every room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear VicF70,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. Thank you for mentioning Janice and Kristy. We will pass these comments on to them. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. We hope that you will return again in the future. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Thank you again for your time. We hope to see you gain in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed one night here on our way back from Florida to New Hampshire and it was perfect. The views of the mountains while having my coffee and breakfast in the morning were breathtaking. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask the desk for a map of resturants in the area. We did because we were sick of eating at fast food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear danimal416,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay with us. Our view from the hotel is breathtaking. We are glad that you enjoyed it. We appreciate all of your thoughts and comments and are passing them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem
Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.