We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of mountains.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Maggie Valley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of mountains.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Great place to stay. Beautiful view of the mountains from second floor window, on the backside of hotel and the breakfast area. Good breakfast.. Cinnamon rolls wonderful as always. Would stay again if in area. Pick up one of state coupon books for room discount.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments about our breakfast is very much appreciated. We will be passing these on to our staff.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    60
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
97
50
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

As a priority club member I have used many of the HI Ex chain hotels. The welcome by Glenn at reception was warm and friendly, yet professional. We were offered a remarkably good 'walk in' rate, and the rooms and entire hotel were clean and comfortable. Glenn was able to advise on places to eat in nearby Salem. We ate at Bob and Macs and would recommend the calzone pizza, but only if you are really hungry. The hotel is well situated just off Interstate 81 but far enough away for there not to be no traffic noise. What a delight in the morning to open curtains and see beautiful mountain views. Breakfast was as good as you will get. I am like a kid with a new toy with the comparatively new pancake maker HI Ex have installed. I hope they get them in the UK for when I get home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We really are glad that you enjoyed the pancake maker!!!!!!!! Thank you for your great comments about your room and your view of the mountains. Your comments are being passed on to our staff. They always appreciate to hear they are doing a great job.

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains just outside of Roanoke, Virginia, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Salem is convenient to many surrounding businesses and attractions.

Thanks again we hope to see you again in Salem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel built in 2009. The decor, not to mention the view of the mountains is absolutely beautiful. Great breakfast in the morning and last but not least, we loved the automatic pancake maker. Every hotel should have one. Easy access from highway. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor above the pool area with view of the moutains and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you so very much for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate your comments about the great view from your room. Thank you as well for your comments about the pancake machine, we have been getting a lot of great comments about that. We strive as a hotel to give every guest in our hotel a great experience.

After a long day of work or play, you can relax in our outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, or work up a sweat in the 24-hour Fitness Center. We also offer a complimentary, hot breakfast bar every morning.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope to see you again in Salem!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is close to Roanoke Va. but away from the noise and bustle. The beds are a dream and rooms are large. The decor is very attractive. I didn't have the opportunity to use the hot tub but they HAVE one. The breakfast area was larger than most and clean.

Room Tip: I had a room on the third floor with a room overlooking the hillside to the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your time. Thanks for the great comments about your room. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains just outside of Roanoke, Virginia, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Salem is convenient to many surrounding businesses and attractions.

Thanks for your time. We hope to see you again in Salem!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

From the very start everything was great. The person at the front desk was happy to see us and provided us with great service, including making several recommendations for dinner and providing us with a map so we could find them. The room was clean, well-appointed and just what we have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express as well as being very quiet. The breakfast bar the next morning was at all times clean and well stocked with a variety of delicious foods. It was overall a great experience and we will defiantly stay there again when we travel up I-81 into Virginia.

westymtnman@gmail.com

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thanks for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about your breakfast. We will pass your comments on to our staff about how the helped you. They always appreciate hearing great comments.

After a long day of work or play, you can relax in our outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, or work up a sweat in the 24-hour Fitness Center. We also offer a complimentary, hot breakfast bar every morning.

Thanks again for your time!! We hope you will stay with us again in Virginia!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, OH
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very nice hotel-nice large breakfast area, but not as well stocked as some we have visited. Staff was very helpful and friendly. This was our first visit to the area--family member just moved to Salem. All in all, a nice hotel, wish it had an indoor pool. The decorating is not to my taste but the hotel was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I have staying this year about 6 times in the Holiday Inn Express Salem. It is over the top clean and great people...

Room Tip: The rooms are big and always spotless .. There is no noise and great view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you are repeat visitors to our hotel. We appreciate your great comments about our hotel. We strive to make every guests stay the best!! We are happy that we accommodated you!!

Thanks again for your time!!! We hope you come stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.