We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new hotel-- quite beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Salem
Hickory, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“new hotel-- quite beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed here for one night while passing through. Had no reservation, showed up around 6-7 pm. Asked about availability of rooms and was told that suites were all that were left, $148/night. I said that we didn't want to spend more than $100/night, could he recommend another property. He said he'd give me the suite for $100. It was a very nice room, wifi worked great, room clean, spacious, and pretty. Had 2 dbl beds, a sofa and coffee table, a desk and chairs. Small kitchenette area with fridge, sink, micro, coffeemaker. Bathroom had great water pressure, plenty of towels, complimentary shampoo, etc and hairdryer. Free breakfast w/eggs, sausage, pancakes, cereal, etc. It was the typical free breakfast, not awful but not gourmet either. Perfectly fine for free. Hotel is not within walking distance of much except a gas station/convenience store. We drove maybe 5 min into Salem and found a nice little main street with a lot of restaurants. Hotel has a pool outside in back. Rooms overlooking pool might be noisy, but they have a great view of the mtns. Our room faced front, so there was some noise from cars, but nothing awful. Hotels are at their best when they're new, and this one is very new, so everything is clean and polished and beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for the great review of our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated, and are used in making our hotel better. Our goal is to provide a safe clean and comfortable hotel.

After a long day of work or play, you can relax in our outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, or work up a sweat in the 24-hour Fitness Center. We also offer a complimentary, hot breakfast bar every morning.

We hope the next time you are in Salem that your will stay with us again. You are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    47
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
84
39
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We came in with a group of parents for a sporting event. The lobby was a very comfortable and relaxing spot that our parents hung out in most evenings. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool area looked out over the mountains and was also a nice spot to hang out. Breakfast was good with just enough choices. The staff were friendly, polite and eager to please.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_CEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you and your group were able to relax in the lobby during your stay. Our outdoor pool provides a relaxing way to spend your day. We offer a variety of hot and cold items on our complementary breakfast buffet.
Thank you again for your stay, comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I wish I had found this place a couple of years ago. After staying in at least 7 different similar-price properties in the Salem/Roanoke area, I was beginning to think the entire region just had lower standards than most areas in the nation. Thankfully I tried the HI Express and was very impressed with everything. To be fair, the property is only 3 years old, but it has been kept in like-new condition with good quality all around. For example, the shower has a light over it - a simple but welcome feature in the spacious bathroom. The rooms are pretty soundproof as well. A fridge, microwave and coffeemaker are welcome even though there is a substantial breakfast buffet with wonderful cinnamon buns, eggs, bacon, sausage, gravy, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruits and more. There is plenty of room in the breakfast area to dine while overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains. The front desk staff are welcoming and friendly. The outdoor pool, of course very cold in April, was clean and the hot tub toasty and clean as well. There's plenty of parking and a small convenience store in walking distance. It is extremely accessible off of I-81 and perfect for Roanoke College parents. I am looking forward to my return visit for graduation in May.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_CEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Our guest rooms offer 32' flat panel TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, high speed internet, iron and board, and alarm clock. We offer a complimentary breakfast daily with a variety of hot and cold items to chose from. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your visit in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Having been a charter member of Priority Club since 1989, this Holiday Inn Express Inn & Suites is perhaps the best. The greeters are like family and the lobby has a great view of the mountains. The rooms are the cleanest I have seen in hotels, great service and the breakfast buffet is number ONE. Well done HI, Salem Civc Center. My grandson said "This is a lot better than Harrah's Casino & Hotel in Atlantic City, NJ". Thank you, George Greenlaw, from Virginia Beach, Va.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_CEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We have worked very hard to ensure we are providing a safe, clean, and comfortable hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our daily complimentary breakfast buffet. We have passed your comments regarding the service that you received to all of our staff. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Washington DC for only one night. We were able to use a coupon that we got in a hotel book at a rest area and saved a ton of money. The hotel was new in 2009 and it is still very clean. The staff were all so nice and the room was comfortable. The noise was totally non existent. As a matter of fact we overslept and almost missed breakfast. The breakfast was the normal HIE but was still very well stocked just before it ended. We would definately stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_CEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, we do offer this daily to all of our guests with a great variety of hot and cold items. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Washington DC. We have passed your comments regarding the service on to all of our staff as it is important for them to hear that they are doing a good job. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

The hotel itself was very nice. The staff was very helpfull and went out of there way to be friendly and helpfull. I was very impressed with Kathy who was very very nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_CEG, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel; we worked very hard to ensure we are providing a safe, clean, and comfortable hotel. We have passed your comments regarding the service on to all of our staff as it is important for them to hear when they are doing a good job.
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in Salem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I have been staying in the area for many years to attend VA TeCH football games (GO HOKIES) and my friend actually booked us rooms at the HOliday Inn EXpress since it is a newer hotel. I personally will never stay here again, the girls at the front desk were the rudest attendants on all shifts that I have encountered in my life. THey treated everyone like numbers and cattle to get you into a room. There is nothing special about this hotel for VA TEch people...other hotels provide VT signs, Flags on the buildings or a party. These people are anti-HOKIE....and acted like they just wanted our $$$ that we paid for the rooms. The rooms are decent but the service means more to me than any other of the fancy decor. Think twice if you are family oriented about staying in this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.