We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent price for a very average pet friendly hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Salem to your Saves list
Super 8 Salem
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   300 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Abbeville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent price for a very average pet friendly hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great location and accessibility off I-81. Young man operating the desk was helpful and courteous. A barking dog in a 1st 1st floor room while inspecting a room before making a commitment was bit unsettling. . . . the 2nd floor was better with plenty of privacy and relatively quiet. A basic continental breakfast was probably the only bright star. Unfortunately there are only 2 very small tables for all guests. A decent priced motel with no serious deficiencies and of course nothing outstanding either. . . I would go back, but - ONLY because of the decent price! Phil H. S. Carolina.

Room Tip: Room access is only from the inside lobby area, park near the front desk entrance. This is a pet fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    16
    10
    10
See reviews for
21
16
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A friend and I stayed one night here after transferring from a sister Super 8 location in Roanoke to get closer to Moyer Sports Complex. They both were clean and suitable stays. Spartan rooms but acceptable for two guy travelers. I'd stay there again if our girls get back to the big dance again (D2 National Championship in Softball).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Front desk was quick and efficient upon check in. Room seemed clean and all we needed for a quick overnight on the way to Florida. Exactly what I expected for the price and convenience to the highway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trip3798, Manager at Super 8 Salem, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for posting your positive comments! Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESAPEAKE BEACH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The young man at the front desk was very personable during check-in. However, once we got into the room and were settling in, we noticed something on one of the pillows. We removed the pillow case and noticed that the pillow had black mold/mildew on it. We were given new pillows, but both my husband and I suffered allergy attacks for the rest of the night. There might be something else in the room (#306). There is no excuse for this pillow being used in any room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trip3798, Manager at Super 8 Salem, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Sorry to hear about your housekeeping issue. We have just ordered all new pillows and are working with our housekeeping staff to review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Salem

Address: 300 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Salem
Salem Super 8
Salem Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.