We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible housekeeping” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Salem to your Saves list
Super 8 Salem
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   300 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Salem
CHESAPEAKE BEACH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible housekeeping”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The young man at the front desk was very personable during check-in. However, once we got into the room and were settling in, we noticed something on one of the pillows. We removed the pillow case and noticed that the pillow had black mold/mildew on it. We were given new pillows, but both my husband and I suffered allergy attacks for the rest of the night. There might be something else in the room (#306). There is no excuse for this pillow being used in any room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trip3798, Manager at Super 8 Salem, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Sorry to hear about your housekeeping issue. We have just ordered all new pillows and are working with our housekeeping staff to review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
21
16
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellsville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The bedding didn't seem real clean. The refrigerator was dirty with spilled soda or coffeeon top and had ran down the door. Never cleaned up. Ice cubes in fridge looked like they had been there for months. It was late at night when we got in so did not go down to say anything. Plus know one there when we left in the morning as wasn't sure about leaving the keys on the counter. Yelled but no one answered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here on a short night's sleep. It was a clean room, and the beds slept ok. I would recommend this hotel for a quick night, but not for a long term stay. The service was fine and the breakfast was lacking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you want fairly inexpensive (about 65 with taxes) then it's a place to lay your head. I would not come here with my kids though. The halls smell really strong of curry, but I opened my window and it was fine after a bit in my room. Room was clean and bed very comfortable. Hotel very quiet too. No elevator, so don't get a room on the 3rd floor if you have a lot of luggage. You get what you pay for. I debate as I sit here with the window open hearing all the noise from the street if it was really worth the 25 dollars I saved....not quite sure yet, but it's certainly better than driving all night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Salem

Address: 300 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Salem
Salem Super 8
Salem Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.