We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting,Disappointing,Depressing&Dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Salem to your Saves list
Super 8 Salem
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   300 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disgusting,Disappointing,Depressing&Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

After driving 9 hrs in 95 degree weather with no AC in my car I decided to check into this Super 8 because it was part of the Wyndam hotel Rewards. This place was overpriced ( $78.00 and that was a AAA rate!!! ) the place was empty!!! I paid the same price at a Sheraton over the weekend and it was beautiful! smelled of smoke, towels were stained and dirty gray. The bathroom needed a complete overhaul!
I was so disgusted that I sprayed the room down with Lysol and had to use my own blanket and towel. I will never stay here again nor any other Super 8! Just a
dirty skanky motel! Was ready to just sleep in my car!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    16
    10
    10
See reviews for
21
16
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The room I was given was decent....clean and bed was comfortable. Light in bathroom was very dim. My main complaint was I reserved room for 3 nights but left day early because I accomplished what I had to do and didn't need to stay longer. No one was at the desk early in the morning so I left my key on the desk with the others that were left from other guests who left that morning. I checked my credit card online and I was charged for the full 3 nights. The persons english was very hard to understand. I'm still waiting for this to be resolved.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trip3798, Manager at Super 8 Salem, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thanks for bringing to our attention your charges for the three night stay. I have gone back and credited your account and was able to contact you and advise of the credit. Hope to see you again on your next trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Just okie.. nothing big.. okie for the price... I suggest if you can avoid then do that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARPON SPRINGS
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

While traveling we often stay at Super 8 motels because they are usually pet friendly and only charge a minimal fee for the animal. But please stay away from this particular Super 8. The place was dirty, and the entire property smelled of cigarette smoke. The carpets were a mess and smelled of mold. The electrical outlets in the room were falling out of the wall, which was a safety hazard. There was only one light in the entire room and the bathroom was also a mess. Thankfully it was only for one night and we put up with it. We would have left, but had a reservation and would have been charged anyway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Enjoyed our stay here - good value motel with plenty of restaurants very close in a nice area. Friendly staff and close to the interstate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs,Va
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed with my mom and kids here for one night. Some of the reviews weren't so good so we asked to look at a room before we checked in. The room was very clean and nice. The front desk clerk was nice but you had to call on a phone to get someone to the counter (which I thought was odd). My only problem was I had called and gotten a rate the night before and we were charged WAY more that what was quoted. The clerk did knock the price down some but her explanation was that the rate is constantly changing..they never know until they punch it into the computer (which I also think is odd).The continental breakfast wasn't anything fancy but we had other plans. I would stay here again but definitely book your room online so you get a good price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011 via mobile

Hotel owner must be trying too hard to save money. No AC in hallways,room was hot,took too long to cool down. I wouldn't wrap a dog in the blanket that was on the bed!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Salem

Address: 300 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Salem
Salem Super 8
Salem Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.