We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rate, No Frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Salem
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good Rate, No Frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Check in was quick, I'd made an on-line reservation so my key and paperwork was waiting for me. Motor court style, parked right outside my door. Room was clean and well maintained. Microwave, fridge, no hairdryer.
Heat/AC unit was quiet and worked well. Good lineup on the TV channels. Wi-Fi signal was strong and worked very well. Pillows a little flatter than I prefer, but otherwise OK. Overall, a typical economy room, but if you are looking for a no frills hotel with a good rate this should work fine. 24 hour Omelette Shoppe right next door, convenience stores and other restaurants are close as is the interstate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
13
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I was traveling with some friends for a race. I've stayed in some less than luxurious accomodations before and I'm certainly not expecting the Ritz from an Econo lodge but JEEZ! This was the worst hotel EVER!!!!! The smell was so bad we bought air freshener to cover it up. The mattress was at least 22 years old (as evidenced by the tag that had 3 month flipping instructions starting in 1987). We opened the door to let the bugs out. They were fleeing the room at a manic pace. The door to the bathroom had a huge crack in it so you could watch anyone doing their business. Stains were on everything. If we could we would have switched hotels but b/c of the football game everything was booked. What an awful mess this place was.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Not a fancy hotel, but the least expensive, and the room was great. The owners are updating the motel, and our room was clean, comfortable and very nice. Carpet was clean, bed was firm, comfortable and clean; bathroom was obviously older, but very clean. We were happy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

This Hotel is ok for the price, we stayed for 3 nights the first night we had a regular room it was nice and pretty clean, the only problem was that the neighbors were having a big party witch was not the hotels fault, i could of handeled the noise of people talking but we hears beer bottles clanking non stop and ever 2 minutes the door would slam and i had a 2 year ld with me trying to sleep we came all the was from michigan, so we called the desk and they took care of it and made people leave their was like 5 car loads of people that were in that one little room. then the last 2 nights we upgraded to the jacuzzi room witch i thought would be better the room looked ok had a bad smell in it and the jacuzzi was dirty i had to have my husband go get some cleaning suplies and i had to clean it then my daughter had to go to the bathroom and i went to take her and i would not even put her near the toliet their was urine and feces all over it it was discusting. but besides having to clean the tub and toliet myself it was an ok stay...

  • Liked — It was right off of the exit you didnt even have to drive a half of mile
  • Disliked — the dirty toilet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapelo Island, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

If you need a bed to lay your head, this will do just fine. Don't expect ANY frills, but for the price, it really can't be beat. It's definitely seen better days, but it was quiet, the bed and linens were new.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amston CT
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

I stayed at the EconoLodge as a pit stop on my way to North Carolina. It stood fine for what we needed, but it didn't have a pool or extras like that. The staff had great people's skills, even at 11:30PM, and the breakfasts were tasty and fresh. It was a pretty good hotel to stay at. The only thing is, there was some paint dripped in some places in our room. I would definaty stay here again for a pit stop, but not for a long stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

Its a good, steady, dependable option for the area. Consistently clean with very convenient parking and walking distance from several dining options as well as a grocery store.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Salem
Salem Econo Lodge
Address: 301 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.