We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Econo Lodge
301 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Salem
Florida
1 review
“Great room for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Not a fancy hotel, but the least expensive, and the room was great. The owners are updating the motel, and our room was clean, comfortable and very nice. Carpet was clean, bed was firm, comfortable and clean; bathroom was obviously older, but very clean. We were happy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    7
    5
    11
See reviews for
13
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

This Hotel is ok for the price, we stayed for 3 nights the first night we had a regular room it was nice and pretty clean, the only problem was that the neighbors were having a big party witch was not the hotels fault, i could of handeled the noise of people talking but we hears beer bottles clanking non stop and ever 2 minutes the door would slam and i had a 2 year ld with me trying to sleep we came all the was from michigan, so we called the desk and they took care of it and made people leave their was like 5 car loads of people that were in that one little room. then the last 2 nights we upgraded to the jacuzzi room witch i thought would be better the room looked ok had a bad smell in it and the jacuzzi was dirty i had to have my husband go get some cleaning suplies and i had to clean it then my daughter had to go to the bathroom and i went to take her and i would not even put her near the toliet their was urine and feces all over it it was discusting. but besides having to clean the tub and toliet myself it was an ok stay...

  • Liked — It was right off of the exit you didnt even have to drive a half of mile
  • Disliked — the dirty toilet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapelo Island, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

If you need a bed to lay your head, this will do just fine. Don't expect ANY frills, but for the price, it really can't be beat. It's definitely seen better days, but it was quiet, the bed and linens were new.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amston CT
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

I stayed at the EconoLodge as a pit stop on my way to North Carolina. It stood fine for what we needed, but it didn't have a pool or extras like that. The staff had great people's skills, even at 11:30PM, and the breakfasts were tasty and fresh. It was a pretty good hotel to stay at. The only thing is, there was some paint dripped in some places in our room. I would definaty stay here again for a pit stop, but not for a long stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

Its a good, steady, dependable option for the area. Consistently clean with very convenient parking and walking distance from several dining options as well as a grocery store.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 301 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Salem
Salem Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.