We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame on Econo Lodge” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Econo Lodge
301 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Salem
The Villages, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shame on Econo Lodge”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

When traveling and making one night hotel stays, I don't expect resort type rooms, give me a clean room, decent bedding and linens, and a TV that works. Here we did not receive any of these. Did not get any of the so called amenities, no fridge, no microwave, no coffee in room. We usually travel on overnights with no reservation. We picked the wknd. of VA Tech homecoming, so pickings were slim on that corridor of Rte. 81n, (if traveling on a wknd. In VA during football season, check for availability of a room before stopping.) It was late when we checked in and the hotel had us at a disadvantage. Charged us $90. for a crappy flop house style room. Dirty, smelly, cramped bathroom, had to stand up over toilet to shut door, couldn't stand behind door. Did not try breakfast, got up in the am and got out. Never again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    7
    5
    11
See reviews for
13
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed twice within a weeks time and got the same pet friendly room 135. Carpet was bad in the room.... but that's ok...that's why its good for pets. It was very nice to have a place to welcome the puppy too! The front desk clerk was great and she remembered me and told us that the room had a nice area nearby to walk the dog. Waffles in the morning were delicious. Seems like the workers who were doing the roof also enjoyed breakfast too....odd.... but that's ok! I would return. =) Bathroom is ready for a redo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in to stay overnight and didn't require much. All I needed was a place to shower and crash...that's exactly what I got. Parking right infront of the hotel room made taking bags inside a breeze. Hot shower, microwave, TV, but building is old. But when u get a cheap room in most cases you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Clean room. Clean bed. Hot shower. Fridge/Microwave. A/C. No odors. Perfect for a good night's sleep. EconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodgeEconolodge

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband travels for work and has stayed in more hotels than I can count. Often I accompany him on his trips, and I thought I had seen "bad hotels". No. I had no idea they could be this disgusting. Let me start by saying that I TRIED to give this place the benefit of the doubt. As soon as you walk in the room, you are slapped in the face with the smell of mold and mildew. Ok, so maybe the place is just old, and the AC has been turned off. Doesn't necessarily mean it's dirty.... The carpet was disgusting. Ripped and soiled. The first night we stayed, we found a small spider on the bed. Again, I tried to be positive... Spiders are everywhere - at least it wasn't a cockroach. The next morning I was awakened by a man (an employee) walking into my room while I was asleep! No apologies or anything! And no it wasn't the cleaning crew. I checked. Even the microwave smelled like something had died and been cooked inside of it. A few nights later I found another spider in the sink. The last straw was finding a COCKROACH IN THE BED RIGHT WHERE I WAS SLEEPING!!! I can't tell you how management handled this as they are not in the office overnight, but they WILL be hearing from us. Don't waste your money. The Super 8 across the street looks 10 times better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped here in early May. We were on our way north after a holiday in the southern USA and had used Econolodges on 4 previous occasions during the trip and had been very satisfied. This place was not only the worst by far but also the most expensive by far. The list of problems included what looked like mildew/mold in the bathroom, tiles missing in bathroom. 6" tear in bed quilt. No tea/coffee in room or foyer. Fridge extremely noisy when cycling on/off. Breakfast consisted of stale bagels which the toaster did not even brown, only two choices of cereal and no cream for coffee only powdered stuff. We picked up the comment card in the room make the owners aware of our dissatisfaction only to find it had been partially filled in by a previous occupant complaining of similar things that we had found, it was not signed but we delivered it to the desk the next morning when we checked out. We made our complaints to the clerk at this time,( the owner was not available) Econolodge inspectors need to check this one out, It is not doing the franchise any favors,

Room Tip: If hotel is located by a freeway request a room on the side furthest away: It's generally quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you want a clean, attractive place to stay this isn't it. Motel is old. For me the redeeming feature was a door to outside rather than a inside corridor. Rooms had fridge and microwave. According to the Choice Privileges web site where I booked my stay there was a continental breakfast. Don't believe it. Not even a coffee pot in room or lobby. If you want coffee there is a 24 hour waffle house or something similar next door. I got in late and was tired - room was damp and cold. Turned heat on high and finally took covers off bed and slept in my cloths. Soft damp spots in the floor, TV worked but remote didn't and the water in the tub dripped all night even though I tried to turn it off all the way. Toilet flushing was iffy. I had stayed in this place 16-18 years ago and had been snowed in for three days with some friends. We had a great time. This trip managed to remove all good memories of the motel. Thank goodness I still have the friends I was snow bound with and the Shoneys down the road has kept up with the times and is still great. Lots of other motels/hotels on this strip so don't get stuck here.

Room Tip: There are no redeeming features to this motel except if you like a outside door so you don't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 301 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Salem
Salem Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.