We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Salem
Rutland, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This property had a two star rating, but the rater must have seen it twenty years ago.

When a hotel has people living their year-round, it tells you something.

The place smells, the beds were old, the paint was peeling in the bathroom, and we did not feel safe.

We turned our key in and got a refund, and stayed at a real hotel (quality) down the road.

Do not say here. Period.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
13
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Candor, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

While traveling back from a wonderful vacation in South Carolina, we needed to find a basic motel room to spend the night. Since I was doing the driving, my husband offered to take care of it. The motel was inexpensive, especially with the discount coupon. Although our room was nonsmoking, it had obviously been a smoking room in a previous life . The chairs were stained and the furnishings outdated. The beds were comfortable and the shower had good pressure with plenty of hot water, but the carpet....all I can say is "GROSS!" Perhaps the carpet is where the cigarette smoke smell came from!
There are several other lodging options at that exit. I would recommend you try one ot those. Needless to say, my husband will not be in charge of lodging next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was a basic room which is what we expected for the price. It was clean and larger than your average "budget" room. The heating was noisy (like an old boiler) and guests in other rooms were noisy but the room itself was quite satisfactory for our one-night stay.

The hotel is within sight of the highway, so for those traveling it's a great location, and there are many and varied places to eat within sight of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The room was cheap enough with the coupon from the motel discount coupon book. It was very outdated. The carpet was worn and faded. Porcelain had scraped off the sink. The shower head was broken, and was stuck on one of the massage settings. Mattresses were hard as a rock, and the pillows were flat as pancakes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dandridge, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed at the Econolodge in Salem Va. over Thanksgiving 2011, we knew that the hotel was older being that we are originally from the Salem area. But I would say that it was as clean if notcleaner than most hotels we have stayed, and the bed was very comfortable, so if you are not looking for all the luzuries and just want a nice place to spend the night this place will do you...

Room Tip: Just pick a non-smoking room even if you smoke as I do, you can go outside and smoke..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore Va
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This was by far one of the worst motels i have ever stayed in. The pillows were flat, lumpy, and very old. The bed was hard, the comforter was torn. There was NO HOT WATER! We called the front desk to complain about the water, and their response was to wait a few mins.. we waited over 5 mins and the water never warmed up. Everything in this motel was VERY outdated and a waste of money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel is neither safe nor clean and should most likely be condemned as a motel property due to numerous safety hazards. The operator of this Econo Lodge apparently does not take any pride in his lodge, nor does he make any effort to keep the facility in good order. He rents out rooms that reek of cigarette smoke and lists the rooms as "Non-smoking" He patched holes in the walls and gaps in the floors in the cheapest method that he possibly can. He hasn't had the carpeting replaced or even cleaned in many years. There was even several cockroaches crawling around this room. We arrived late in the evening and were not up to trying to obtain a refund from the motel as I am sure that we would have been told it was too late to cancel.

The traveling public expects more from a motel/hotel chain than the type of property that this location represents. I have had experience with the Econo Lodge chain and know that this situation occurs across the country in many other locations. It seems that Choice Hotels does not have any pride in their corporate name and reputation or these locations would not have the Econo Lodge name on their signage.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Salem
Salem Econo Lodge
Address: 301 Wildwood Road, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.