We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie Caverns

Dixie Caverns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dixie Caverns
Save Saved
You added Dixie Caverns to your Saves list
5753 West Main Street, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Bellville, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This park has received some bad reviews in the past and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The park is old and needs some work but once we were in and settled, we like it here. The sites are very close together and we really don't have a problem with it now.The tall trees surrounding the park make using a satellite dish impossible but the park has good cable service and outstanding wifi connection, so it's all good. We will definitely be back here when coming this way in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

With a lot of Tlc and a hard working camp ground host dixie caverns could be a 10/10/9 camp ground for the Roanoke valley. Did not use Bathrooms. (Used my Rv). A security system with gates would be nice. Camp sites need work. Management needs to manage long term campers better. But, for overnight stays it is ok. I would stay again. It has a lot of potential.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Only campground in the area. Bathhouse is disgusting. Field showers in the military are cleaner. Grass has not been cut in awhile. Not enough room between campers to put your awning out. Walk out camper door and trip on neighbors sewage hookups. People (site62) have dogs in camper crying all the time. No ac on or windows open for them. Notified mgr. had to make a call to owner, did not know what to do. Nothing was done. Campground does not look anything like the picture in their flyer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogansville, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As you drive in, the campground has a very unkept appearance, but it looked like it would be okay for a two nights stay. How wrong we were!!! Once we saw the bathhouse, we realized we made a big mistake. The bathhouse was filthy. An expert cleaning crew would have a hard time getting this place clean. Also, Dixie Caverns is located right next to the I-81 off ramp; and the highway noise prevents anyone from getting a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here because we had business on the west side of Roanoke. The campground, itself, has a very unkept appearance, but was, basically sufficient for a quick overnight. It is located right next to the I-81 off ramp; and highway noise kept us from getting a good nights sleep. The staff who work in the office were very friendly and helpful. We would not stay here again unless there were no other options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We chose to stay at Dixie Caverns because it is the town our daughter moved to. Big mistake! I have never been to a place where every lot is COVERED in dog poop. The snow was not plowed from any of the sites and you had to tow your camper over snow banks, through mud pits. The only positive point to this place is that the people were friendly, the cable worked well and so did the free wi-fi. You couldn't hear any of the traffic from the interstate either. There were a LOT of junk rvs and home made campers/shacks there which people were living in year round. Just not a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

I camped here while traveling through Virginia on I-81. For $7.50 I had a tent site in a quiet campground--a real bargain. The bathhouse is locked with a key code for entry, and it was spotless.

I didn't have time to visit the caverns, but noticed that there is a nice gift shop.

The campground is convenient to the interstate but very quiet and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dixie Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dixie Caverns

Address: 5753 West Main Street, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Salem
Also Known As:
Dixie Caverns Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixie Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.