We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, affordable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Salem to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, affordable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Great hotel. Everything smelled new. Rooms were large, beds comfy, and great bathroom...even included a rubber duck.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    52
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
48
34
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

This was probably the best place we stayed on quite a big trip. Aaron at the front desk blew us away. He took the time to tell us of local restaurant and shopping options, made sure we knew about what the hotel had to offer, and even helped us save a few bucks upon our arrival. It's a clean, new building. We loved the pool becuase it was only 4' deep at the deepest, so I didn't have to worry quite as much about the little kids. The location is just beautiful. Even from the pool you can see the mountains through the huge windows. The location is very easy to get to off the interstate. There was a large Food Lion next door and many great restaurant options. Will absolutely go back if ever in the Roanoke area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stopped here on our way back north from Florida. When I called to get reservations, the guy at the desk mentioned that I could get our senior room cheaper by calling Choice Hotels. I did and got our room for $79.95. Our room was very nice but in the middle of the night the temperature got up to 76 and my husband could not figure out how to turn the air on. We went down to breakfast at 9:30 and it is opened until 10:00. It was probably the least impressive breakfast of our entire 2 week trip. We also did not appreciate the lady who was attending the room start vacumning at 9:45 just as we were eating.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

We routinely stay in Salem VA enroute from Ontario to Florida. We have tried a number of different motels/hotels in the area, but this was far and beyond our best experience to date. For families with young children, the size of the suites is wonderful. The two queen beds + sofa bed (with small room divider) is unique for the hotels in the area and a perfect option for a five-member family. The kids (and the parents, too) loved the pool, especially after a long day on the road. The building and amenities are still new and fresh. Located conveniently right off the Interstate and right next door to a grocery store, which was a nice to have if needed. We will be staying there again next time we pass through Salem - although you will probably pay a bit more than some of the other budget hotels in the area, it is worth every penny.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

Nice new hotel. Room was very clean. Staff was very friendly and eager to please. The mattress was a plush pillowtop, not like most hotel mattresses. The only complaint that I have is that there is not any heat in the bathroom.

  • Liked — nice clean room
  • Disliked — no heat in the bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
600 reviews 600 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 222 cities Reviews in 222 cities
578 helpful votes 578 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

This new hotel is attractive with contemporary decor and is very clean. Best of all, the wonderful mattress on the bed gave a very good night's sleep. The king room was spacious and comfortable. The linens are fresh, spotless, and soft.

The location of the hotel is a big plus. It is close to I-81 without being too close. It is far enough from the interstate and road noise. It is located on a highway, so we asked for a quiet room.

The only negative of our stay was the fact that we were given a room with a door to the next room, and in spite of the fact that the hotel was far from full, other guests were booked into the adjoining room. The guests next door chose to play their TV loudly until 11:30. We might have heard some noise through the walls anyway, but adjoining doors are always opportunity for sound to travel between rooms. The next time guests request a quite room, I suggest putting them in a room with no extra doors.

The complimenary breakfast provided a good variety of both hot and cold items -- eggs, gravy, biscuits, make your own waffles, yogert, bagels, cereal, coffee, and juice. My only complaint would be that the waffle batter was too thin resulting in overflow and difficulty lifting out the cooked waffle.

Considering that the hotel is new, clean, comfortable and that a free breakfast is included with the price of the room, this hotel is a very good value for the price, especially if you have a discount program.

On the way to the shopping mall, we stumbled upon a nice, moderately priced steakhouse called the Great 611. The food was good, and the service was great.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — door to adjoining room made for a noisy room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Salem

Address: 100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Salem Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.