We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - Wonderful - Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Salem to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful - Wonderful - Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel, every week, for 2 months. This hotel gets my "excellent" rating for many reasons but most of all for the most wonderful employee ever! - Gina Whitt. What a pleasure it was to be greeted by her smiling face, encounter her pleasant disposition and spending quality time just sharing life experiences and events. Gina - thank you for making the world a better place, and the Comfort Suites too. All good things to you and yours. Sincerely, JKS

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    52
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
48
34
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here before on our return from Florida. The rooms are large, clean and quiet. The person at the front desk was very friendly. The breakfast was also good. I would definitely stay here again. I learned on Trip Advisor that if you show your room key at Mama Maria's Restaurant, you get a 10% price reduction. That was nice to know. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munsonville, New Hampshhire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The Hotel was very clean, the beds comfortable, the staff was extremely helpful in suggesting selecting restaurants. Morning breakfast was a full buffet that was open early so we could continue on our trip. It was easy on/off the highway.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenacres, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This hotel is clean, the staff is friendly, it has free wi-fi, and the free breakfast is the same as all comfort inn/suites hotels. I chose this one because it's smoke-free and didn't accept pets, so there were no lingering smells in the room when we arrived as you get with other pet-friendly hotels. They are part of the green initiative, that helps save the environment. It's located right next to a grocery store, it is about 7 miles away from the mall in Roanoke, and 3 miles away from Roanoke College.
NOTE: The indoor pool is being remodeled/fixed, so if you're going there with the intention to swim, call to see if it's finished.

Room Tip: Rooms that face east have a good sunshine in the morning... lots of natural light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This is the second time I've stayed here, both times for the same reason. The hotel is really comfortable and typically clean. The breakfast area is big enough to handle an entire basketball team and not push everyone else out. The staff is extremely friendly and actually takes the time to speak to you. The rubber ducky on the tub is a cute addition as well. My kids are fighting over the one duck I got, but it's cute watching them fight over a rubber duck!

The drawback, the soft in my room had a fairly good-sized rip in it, to the point it was the first thing I noticed in the room. The book that you get with the room was also fairly dirty, sticky and with food on the various pages. They really need to throw away the pages and print new ones. They're frayed, corners dinged and most of the pages have been corrected. As Hotel Impossible will tell you, incorrect information is not a good thing. It was surprising that a hotel that goes through the effort to put forward a friendly face, ignores something simple like this.

They also have an in-room identification system that, according to the literature in the room, is to help keep housekeeping from knocking on the door and waking you up when you don't want to be awaken. It didn't work. Each day, they knocked and woke me up. Even on the days I had the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door.

I didn't use the pool at all, partly because of the time I would be in the hotel, but would've avoided it anyway with the roof falling in. They had signs up about the problems but you could see this was an issue they'd known about for a while.

These drawbacks would have earned them only 3 out of 5, but they get the fourth for allowing me to grab some breakfast after 10 a.m. each day. They didn't have to do that, but they were gracious and even grabbed some food from the back. The friendliness factor helped greatly.

Room Tip: Make sure to put up the DO NOT DISTURB sign so they don't try to open your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015 via mobile

The room where so nice and big. The Beds so nice. And staff super sweet. We only stayed for a few hours and needed to get back on the road but they helped make a deal for us and Made it that we wish our whole stayed would of been there. Super recommend them.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

driving back to TN from the holidays and I starting seeing ice mixed with rain so I found a hotel sooner than I planned. I picked up one of those hotel coupon books at the VA rest areas and called this hotel and the Quality Inn across the road from it where I stayed last summer. I knew that the Quality room was nice but it has outside entrances. So for the weather, I preferred inside hallways. Comfort was able to get the price only $2 more than the Quality Inn and it is a much nicer hotel. It is walking distance to a few restaurants and a large grocery store with a deli right next door, which is where I went. My only complaint about this hotel is the walls are very thin. The people in the room next to mine talked loudly and I could swear there were a lot of people in there but it was just one loud couple. Also noise from the hallway is annoying. But the room was plenty big, had everything I needed for a one-night stay and I would stay again. Hotel is just off the exit maybe a block but there really wasn't any road noise. My room faced the back of the hotel which is quieter anyway.Breakfast OK. Nice lobby. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: rooms facing back of hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Salem

Address: 100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Salem Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.