We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Salem

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Salem
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The good things: good breakfast that is free, Walkable to Kroger and very good restaurants, clean place, comfortable beds, and pillows. Did not use the pool it looks good from outside, and fitness center looks good too. All the appliances in the room are in working condition. Internet is fast.
The bad things are: the tub was not holding water, the bed lamps are not working, no wending machine, front staff are not good( not rude but not pleasant either).

Overall a good hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    41
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
42
23
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Traveling with our grandkids, so the suite was perfect and the pool was a great experience after a long car ride. Very good experience and the price was great! Breakfast was good and we loved the blueberry pancake option.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I reserved a suite for 6. When I arrived, there was no bedding for the pull out couch. I called down to the front desk, and their response was "you can come down and get it" and I asked "can someone bring it up to me" and their response was "you will have to come down and get it". When I got to the front desk there was a crowd of people around the front desk and it appeared that a guest had pulled up a chair to talk to the person working at the desk. When I received my bedding there were no pillows. I asked for pillows. The response I received was "there are enough pillows in the room". The person seated at the front desk said, "You can have some of my pillows, I have plenty"; which I ignored because I don't think I should have to accept pillows donated from another guest. There were two pillows for for four persons in the room, but not the standard two pillows per guest. In general, I was very unhappy with the attitude demonstrated by the front desk staff member; as it was not helpful and accommodating like any other hotel I have stayed at in the past. If I book a room for six, I think I deserve to have bedding and pillows for six guests in my room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
I am sorry that your recent stay with us was not a great one. I do apologize for that. We so not keep sheets for the pullout sofa in the room to ensure our guests that the sheets are clean. We had one person on the desk and they must have been busy at the desk to not have brought the sheets up to you and I do apologize again for that. We strive to satisify every guest and I can assure you if you give is another chance you will see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l1i2s3a
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Highly recommend this hotel. We had a 2 queen bed suite. Very spacious. Sparkling clean. Love the way they use no comforters or spreads. Very crisp linens. The bathroom was the cleanest we have seen in any hotel we have stayed in the last 3 months…..so refreshing. They even had a nice touch of a rubber ducky in the tub.

The visit was not without issues..but nothing that unbearably uncomfortable. The A/c wasn't working in the lobby. We noticed right away and inquired. The A/C was out downstairs and they were working to get it fixed. Im sure they have it fixed by now. The TV in the room is a little small…but seriously..the cleanliness of the room far out weighs any complaint I would have about the size of the TV.

The attendent was very pleasant. We register very quickly. The breakfast could have been better…square flavorless eggs and pastries that just didn't seem fresh. The sausage was nicely lean. And, my son always enjoys his waffle. The fruit selection was not appealing..under ripe and no bananas. Coffee was good.

Room Tip: We were able to book the 2 queen suite for the same price as 2 queens. Loved the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us. We truly love reading feedback from guest like you! We hope we can serve you in the future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice HOWEVER, the AC is not on in the lobby OR the pool area. It's like a sauna. Also, the eco friendly rooms take forever to cool down. In each of the three rooms we have we turned the themistat down as soon as we entered the rooms. After 4 hours two of the rooms still weren't cool. This is day 1 of our stay here. I will rate this hotel each of the 3 days we are here. I hope the manager that appears to be very hard to locate sees this while we are here. We will be asking for a discount for our discomfort for each of the 3 rooms that we paid $100+ for if it doesn't get any better.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red House, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was great. Even though it was last August, we still talk about how great it was. Highly recommend to anyone traveling I81. Large selection of restaurants close by, many within walking distance. Great staff! Will stay again if in area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Mrs and I were put in a room that was 85 degrees-hostess suggested 4 other room were same. After unpacking and repacking we decided we would just have to deal with the heat. Next morning I tried to speak with general Mgr. not in when home I called on 5 other times-not in
I then called corp final got response Via E-Mail give me 20% discount. WOW for all discomfort
and sign states guarntee !00% satisfaction. For 95% being uncomfortable they give 20% not
100%

Room Tip: check room before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Mr. Unhappy,

Sorry you were not happy with your stay. Yes our building is Eco-friendly so when someone is not in the room the AC or heat does not keep running. We also have thermostats on the wall so when you come in to the room you can just turn it to the number you like. I'm sorry that you did not understand this. We did you give you full refund.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Salem

Address: 100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Salem 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Salem Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.