We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Choice of Choice Brand Hotels!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Salem to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Choice of Choice Brand Hotels!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We recently spent a week in this hotel while vising out family in Salem. The rooms are clean and spacious with a refrigerator add microwave. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The night we arrived all the ice machines were broke, so the front desk attendant went into the breakfast kitchen and got ice for everyone that requested ice. The breakfast is the standard fare but well stocked and maintained throughout the breakfast time. Once night during our stay a large group of children and families were there for a baseball event. The boys were running up and down the hall and making noise and again, the front desk attendant addressed the matter pleasantly with the boys in the hall. The only complaint we had was that the ice machine on our floor was broke the entire stay. The first floor ice machine was fixed the very next day. The hotel is very conveniently located near the interstate. The afternoon cookies are great and the free WIFI is a definite plus. This is the third time we have stayed here and will continue the tradition when we visit the family in VA!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. I'm sorry the ice machine was down during your stay. We have resolved the issue for future guests. We can't wait to have you come back. We love having guests like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    48
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
46
33
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here recently with family in order to tour Roanoke College. It is a great, convenient location for the college. Just a short 2mile drive away. Room was very spacious, clean and updated. The bathrooms was also spacious, but there was an issue with having hot water. There was none after the first person got theirs. Also walls in the bathroom area quite thin -- I could hear ever word the person in the room next door was saying. Breakfast had a good selection and was replenished often, however the area is kind of small. As there was also a Tech home game the same weekend, it was very crowded and difficult to find somewhere to sit and enjoy breakfast. Front desk personnel were very friendly and cordial. Overall it was a lovely one night stay, and will definitely consider staying here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Well maintained hotel. You would never know it is 5 years old. Rooms are up to the new Choice Hotel Standards with their new bedding. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast Bar is standard fair with no extras. I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the encouragement. I will share with everything. We truly appreciate your time and value your feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Out of all the Choice brand properties we have been staying at on this trip this was by far the best, clean, nice big rooms, great pool & hot tub, great beds, sheets, pillows and towels. Ann at the front desk is a wonderful person, Oh free cookies too!

Room Tip: Microwave & frig in room Food Lion is behind hotel, nice picnic area outback. You can park motor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know how you a wonderful stay with us. We are so happy and thankful for your response. I will pass this along to Ann as well. Hope to see you soon!

Thanks,
Ashley Likens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a pleasant surprise! The outside of the hotel does not do justice to the upscale and modern decor on the inside. We were greeted at the registration desk by a friendly and upbeat clerk (I think her name was Julie). She was able to multi task without missing a beat - helping us, answering phone, and another guest almost simultaneously. The King Bed Suite was so spacious, 425 sq feet. The bath towels were plentiful and soft. Especially like the way the bath mat was folded to hold washcloth with rubber ducky. Reminded me of a cruise we took. We did not use the refrigerator, coffee maker or microwave. Breakfast was plentiful, something for everyone. The coffee was very good, choice of decaf, bold, breakfast and varied teas. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We loved to read your response. We have posted on the wall for all the employees to see. We hope you stop by again!

Thanks,
Ashley Likens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here while my sons were playing basketball in the Subway Commonwealth games. Very nice rooms...spacious and clean. Pool and sitting here was nice. Breakfast was hot and plentiful. The staff I dealt with were very nice and helpful but there was one rude female staff who a member of our party dealt with. Overall great place to stay and I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We love when our guest are happy! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I expected more from this hotel. They were all little things but they added up. They have very few handicapped parking spots. When we went to breakfast, there were no eggs and they said it would be 10 minutes before any were ready. It was actually closer to 15 minutes. Overall the room was clean and well maintained. The flat screen TV offered no HD channels. There were only poorly formatted SD channels. Anything running across the bottom of the screen could not be viewed because of the formatting., If I had it to do over again, I'd probably check the hotels in Roanoke which is only a few miles from Salem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I am so sorry that you experienced those issues. I can assure you that this is not the norm for us. We had a rush at breakfast and did our best to keep up. Sorry that things took longer than expected. The tv has been properly formatted now and did not realize it was not. We hope you give us another try to make things right.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Salem

Address: 100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Salem Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.