We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubber duckie was a nice touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Salem

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Salem
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rubber duckie was a nice touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Comfort Suites is becoming my "go to" hotel. The one in Salem, VA was no different. Room was big, clean and looked brand new. My receipt was under the door and breakfast was hot and ready. Not sure if it was because of my military reservation, but they left a camouflage wearing rubber duckie on the tub, presented on the top of the folded towels. Nice touch!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the rave review. We truly appreciate your feedback. We love that this is going to be your "go to" hotel chain. Thanks for stopping by and hope you do so again!

Thanks,
Ashley Likens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
20
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shenandoah, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

So it;s not perfect....Some of the staff I think also played a horror movie. The room was clean. They even gave me a little rubber ducky for the jacuzzi. I will stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on June 28th. We arrived late in the evening and got in our room and went to bed. We had a comfortable sleep. When we woke in the morning, we went to use the toilet. We lifted the toilet seat and noticed immediately that the back of the toilet seat was badly stained with urine. The part of the toilet seat you sit on was damaged and chunks of the toilet seat were missing and it was extremely scratched up. We had to go bad so we lined the toilet seat and the inside back of the toilet seat with ALOT of toilet paper before using it. I could not believe how bad this toilet seat was. It was filthy and damaged and should of been replaced a long time ago. It was the worse toilet seat I have ever seen on a hotel toilet. When I went to check out at the front desk I spoke with Justin and advised him of the situation with the toilet seat and how it needed to be replaced immediately because it was that bad. He told me that they already knew it was that bad. He said they had a repair request into maintenance for MANY WEEKS. I asked him, you knew it was that bad and you all still rent the room to people? Justin said yep. I asked him why doesn't the hotel fix it then. He said, "well there have been many repair requests to maintenance." I then told him you would think after many weeks, that you would have maintenance go down to walmart and spend $12 on a toilet seat and replace it but instead you all continue to rent a room that you know has a filthy urine strained damaged toilet seat? Justin said yep. I said why is that, and then Justin walked away.

THIS HOTEL KNOWS THAT IT HAS GOT A SERIOUS PROBLEM IN THIS ROOM AND THEY CHOOSE TO TRY TO MAKE THE CUSTOMER SIT ON URINE.

And as for Justin at the front desk, he is a pathetic excuse for an employee. If they ever replace the toilet seat, they should give it to Justin to take home so he can put it on his toilet since he sees nothing wrong with asking other people to sit on it.

Customer Service failed in EVERY WAY. They were aware of a serious problem, did nothing about it, told the customer to deal with their failure, and lastly, have the I don't care attitude.

Room Tip: Ask them if they are renting you the room with the damaged urine stained toilet seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, mi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived in the evening; stayed one night. The room was great. Clean. Good size bathroom; shower had a bench in it. The bed was comfortable. Big seating area with a couch and desk. Pool area was clean and empty at 8 a.m. Power was out due to a storm so the wifi didn’t work at first. Good continental breakfast in the morning – waffles, bagels, cereal, coffee, etc.

I would stay here again. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

stayed here during a weekend getaway, hotel was helpful with early check in as I called in advance the day of travel to request, room was nice and clean, however weekend desk clerk was clueless on all counts, no name badge, eating when first approached with a mouthful of fast food, felt it was more important to take a bite of his food then to address me when I approached Justin at front desk, no smile, no personality, even throughout my weekend stay as often as I have spoken to him to ask about restaurants, and mall dirctions, he choose to ignore me when we crossed paths rather than say hello or goodmorning. Breakfast was good, although water pitcher at food service area was dirty as it had food particles floating in the bottom of it, all in all not a bad stay, would choose it again when in the area, but justin needs to find a new career,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Room had plenty of space. Beds were comfortable. Sheets were clean. Bathroom well-lit and well-stocked. Seating area very spacious. Desk area with extra outlets and oversized work space. A/C worked very well. Staff extremely pleasant and accomodating. We travel with insulin which needs to be kept cool. We were unsure about the accuracy of the fridge in the room. If a water bottle freezes, no harm. If insulin freezes, it's big bucks. Staff gladly kept the insulin in a secure, refrigerated area and they went to the trouble to wrap and label it! Breakfast was good and hot. Super value for this room using the coupon from the booklets at the VA Welcome Center. Superb Mexican restaurant right next store.

Room Tip: Get the coupon from the VA Welcome Center booklets and save a bundle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We love hearing that from our customers! We hope if you are ever traveling through the area again we will see you!

Thanks,
Ashley Likens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were visiting family in the area and needed a comfortable place to stay for several nights that would also fit our budget - we absolutely found it at the Comfort Suites in Salem! The staff were amazing - my husband made friends with both the day and evening front desk weekday managers who were very helpful. The breakfast was the best I've had at a Comfort Suites with a great variety of items and the woman who took care of the breakfast greeted every single guest with a smile and a good morning. She made sure all items were available at all times! Our room was spotless when we arrived and the cleaning staff were helpful and respectful of our coming and going (when we stay for several days we don't require a daily room clean up). I have spent many years as a corporate meeting planner and have stayed at some of the top hotels in the largest cities - this Comfort Suites truly does live up to all the positive reviews! I'm so pleased to have found a nice place to stay when we visit our children in Roanoke, VA! Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments. We look forwarding to you passing through again! I have passed your words of wonderful praises onto the correct departments!

Thanks,
Ashley Likens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Salem

Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Salem Hotel
Comfort Suites Salem Hotel Salem
Address: 100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Salem 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.