We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Salem

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Salem
Waynesboro, Va
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Good and Reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice now, once in December and once this past weekend. In December, we had a few stinkbugs in our room (a Virginia staple--don't squash, just throw out) but otherwise were sufficiently pleased to return. This visit, there was a girls' volleyball tournament going on that weekend, and an abundance of girls were about the place. Other than a few backups in the breakfast line, though, there were no problems experienced concerning behavior, noise, etc. I had an excellent night's sleep here both stays. The lady at the front desk has been amiable and efficient, the room without odors, everything properly functioning and clean. Not high brow but better than average. My family will not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: No tips on the rooms, but go to Famous Anthony's for a great meal! This is my new favorite rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
20
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BRISTOL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rooms was large with sofa area, quiet and clean and staff was friendly. Easy check in and out. Great place to stay, close to downtown,shopping ,and resturants.Would stay again. Love the indoor headed pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your online comment. We truly value your opinion and feedback. We hope when you travel through Salem, VA again we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We came here just to get away for a weekend and the reviews were nice. we checked in and were given a two queen suite on the third floor like we asked for. When we got to the room you could see all the dust the room was filthy with dust like noone had stayed in the room for a long time. Next we opened the windows and u could see those were verry dirty too hand prints and dirt smeered all over them. The pools hot tub was broken the first day but they fixed it the next. The beds were clean and comftorable the breakfast was also really nice. Check out was at 11am and we thought that was a little early and wanted a late check out we called the desk and we wanted to check out at 1 they rudly told us that we could only postpone it 30 minuetes or they would charge us for another night. We left at 12:30 and the next day on the bill they had charged us 10$ for checking out late! They also charged us 7.00$ for 3 FREE local calls! overall cit was just OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

There is not a huge selection of family-style places to stay in Salem. Heck, there isn't a huge selection in all of Virginia. I really wish I could figure out why that is, but I'm not going to spend a ton of time on it.

We chose this place because, for whatever the reason, the Comfort Suites appears to be meeting that need. And this location in particular is at a good stopping point for us, and we also had good luck at another Comfort in the state. Score. As has been pointed out, the staff is friendly, the place is clean. All good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crittenden,virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel room was large, two beds with a sofa area that could be pulled out. This type room would be great with families that travel with a grandparent, so all can sleep in the same room. The hotel is right off the interstate so would make for a good place to stop for the night. The best thing is right around the corner, walking distant, is a wonderful italian restaurant called Mamma Maria's. Try the homemade gelato. There is also a mexican restaurant next to the hotel, did not try it, but lots of cars in the parking lot. The area was safe, and well lighted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very clean and convenient to I-81. We stayed there on December, and I noticed they had 'special touch' included - a cute rubber ducky in a nutcracker suit sitted on top of the towels. It was an adorably welcoming sight! :)

Their breakfast had good selections. The waffles were great. Food Lion is a walking distance and so are some restaurants. Very Satisfied++++

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It has been a pleasure serving you, and we want you to know we appreciate your business. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed on business trip after using other Choice Hotels in the area for several years. This Comfort Suites is normally priced above the rest of the Quality Inn, Sleep Inns, etc. in the area. In the winter, when the "touristas" are scarce, they reduce their Senior Rate below $80, so I thought I would give them a try. Really is a nice place. WiFi is quite fast and supports NetFlix, which is my standard test. Televisions are upgraded to flat-screen, although the hotel does not subscribe to HD service.
Breakfast was standard Choice fare. Desk staff are friendly and courteous. There is a fitness room with only one treadmill, so go early if you want your turn.
Will probably use this hotel in the off-season, but won't pay the higher rates in he summer.

Room Tip: Any would be OK I would think. Room on the West side would obviously not get the morning sun, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cssalem, General Manager at Comfort Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Please accept my sincere thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Our staff will always do everything possible to merit the confidence you have shown in us. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Salem

Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Salem Hotel
Comfort Suites Salem Hotel Salem
Address: 100 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Salem 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.