We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest Motel We've Stayed in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Wildwood Rd., Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cleanest Motel We've Stayed in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location right off I-81. Very clean room, very nice staff, very comfortable stay. Would have enjoyed breakfast just a little more if it were all still available until 1000 as advertised. Very friendly staff did offer to get us anything we wanted. We highly recommend this motel to travelers passing through Salem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank You for the kind words regarding my staff at Quality Inn! I would like to apologize for the breakfast coming down earlier than 10:00 a.m. and will investigate this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    35
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
23
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

An older property that is well maintained and being updated. Very friendly and helpful staff. Big surprise was the breakfast. It is standard hotel hot breakfast fare but they use top of the line ingredients that make it really tasty.

Don't miss the El Rodeo restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you ffor staying with us at Quality Inn! We are currently doing a few improvements on the property and have even bigger and better things coming. Thebreakfast was one of our first improvements since i have taken over as manager, we have always provided a great Quality Inn breakfast but felt we could improve by offering the highest quality products available. El Rodeo is a wonderful restaraunt as well and one that I would reccomend to any travelers looking for Mexican food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel may 23rd thru the 27th with my mother, mother in law and niece and my 15 year old dog. The staff was great!!! The housekeeper was so friendly and did a great job cleaning the room and always made sure we had everything we needed. The people at the front desk were wonderful also. They were very friendly and made us feel very welcomed. I will definitely stay there again when I am in the area. Highly recommended this place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
The staff here at Quality Inn Wildwood Rd. greatly appreciate your comments! Our housekeeping and front desk staffs go above and beyond to accomodate guests and we appreciate you noticing. I hope that next time your in Salem, VA you come back by and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is it is a bit outdated and lots of cigarette butts on the sidewalks. Overall, excellent. Rooms clean. Great breakfast (includes eggs and sausage). Bed very comfortable and the room was very quiet. Bathrooms seem a bit larger than like hotels. There is mid sized refrigerator, microwave and good tv.

Definitely a great place to spend the night on the road!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to share your feelings on our property with Tripadvisor! We are currently in the midst of renovations, Iam happy to see some of our improvements such as bathroom renovations, new flat screens, new bedding,and a new and improved breakfast bar have are being utilized! I do personally appologize for the cigarette butts and will take these comments seriously and adjust our maintenance schedule appropriately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Gold Award property of the Choice Hotel brands. Rooms are clean and recently updated (summer 2013). New furniture, fresh paint, new comfort beds and linens, updated plumbing fixtures, flat screen HD TV, and mew ac/heater units. Staff goes out of the way to be courteous and helpful.

Pet fee is a $25 PER STAY, rather than per night charge. Nice!

Available overflow parking next door if parking gets tight.

This hotel puts the Quality Inn on the south side of Roanoke to shame. I drive 15 miles extra to stay here rather than either of the Choice Hotels (Quality Inn & Sleep Inn) on the south side of Roanoke in the Tanglewood area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We really appreciate the kind words and wonderful photos you have taken. I am sorry for the "bad" Choice Hotel experiences you have had in the valley and am grateful that we have been able to gain your business. We are a pet friendly hotel and enjoy getting to meet each and every one of our furry friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Gold Award property of the Choice Hotel brands. Rooms are clean and recently updated (summer 2013). New furniture, new comfort beds and linens, updated plumbing fixtures, flat screen HD TV, and mew ac/heater units. Staff goes out of the way to be courteous and helpful.

Pet fee is a $25 PER STAY, rather than per night charge. Nice!

Available overflow parking next door if parking gets tight.

This hotel puts the Quality Inn on the south side of Roanoke to shame. I drive 15 miles extra to stay here rather than either of the Choice Hotels (Quality Inn & Sleep Inn) on the south side of Roanoke in the Tanglewood area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have stayed at this Quality Inn before. We are never disappointed. The hotel is just off I-81 which is very convenient. The free breakfast is on of the best. The lady who was taking care of the breakfast area was very helpful.

Room Tip: The free breakfast was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel! We take great pride in our breakfast and attendant (Juanita). I will pass along your kind words and we appreciate your business and hope to see you in the valley again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 151 Wildwood Rd., Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Salem
Salem Comfort Inn
Quality Inn Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.