We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Wildwood Rd., Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Salem
Princeton, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We normally stay at Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express. I was very apprehensive about staying somewhere other than those two places, but due to the fact we travel with a small dog, this was our only option. We had to stay a total of seven nights because of the type of business trip we were on. (This review is a combination of two different stays with a weekend seperating the two stays).
The first half of the stay was great. The room was clean and cool. I felt immediately at home and really enjoyed the hospitality of the staff. The front desk staff was exceptional and the maintenance staff was friendly as well. My little dog was even provided a little treat bag. The only thing that wasn't great was the dampness in our room the first day or so. They had shampoo'd the carpet in our room the day we arrived and it hadn't finished drying all the way. We voiced our concern to the front desk and she offered to move our rooms. We told her it would not be necessary. She told us to just turn the heat on full blast when we went out for the evening and most of the dampness would be gone. We did that and by the time we arrived back, our room was dry as a bone. Check-out was a breeze and the staff wanted to make sure our stay was great.
The second portion of our stay was just as great! Large, clean room. Friendly staff....

The hotel does need a bit of updating, but it is stll a great place to stay. I would advise for you to bring your own pillows, as the ones in the room aren't very comfy.... but the bed is great!

Next time I travel to the Salem area, I will choose Quality Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room if possible. There isn't an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
17
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice, a week apart, on our way to and from Charleston. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. On the first stay we discovered there was no hot water and the matter was resolved quickly by the staff. They had a problem with a water heater. The breakfast was more than adequate with hot items included and the staff made sure it was well stocked. Unfortunately it is a two story facility with no elevator. The first stay was on the second floor and an elevator would have been nice. Second stay was on the first floor and was much easier to deal with. The location is ideal right off the Interstate. The value for the price was very good. There are restaurants in the immediate area making it very convenient. All in all both stays were fine.

Room Tip: Get on the first floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was our last stop on our long trip home. It was listed as inexpensive and rated Ok on tripadvisor. The room was Ok but we ended up at the farthest reach of the hotel on the second floor building with no elevator. The TV remote did not work in one of the rooms, 2 of the 3 ice machines were broken and breakfast had tghe least number of options of all of our 4 stops.

Room Tip: Did not get second floor unless you wish to carry luggage up. Unfortunately most of the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Clean and comfortable, nice and quiet, even with people coming and going all night. Beautiful area too. Woman at front desk was friendly and helpful. Very good value. A few minutes from restaurants by car

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slocomb, Alabama, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

On our way to NYC for vacation, in the middle of the night, our vehicle broke down. We ended up at the Quality Inn, Salem, Virginia, for the night while we tried to get our trip back on way. We had very limited funds for such a pricey emergency and the Accounts Manager made an unfortunate circumstance a pleasant pit stop. The entire staff worked to get us back on the road, were more than courteous and thoughtful. I have never been to a hotel who treated me like a friend, or went so far out of their way for complete strangers.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience hospitality, a rare occurrence in these days. We couldn't have made the trip without them. The hotel wasn't perfect (nothing is) but it was clean, comfortable, relaxing, and honestly felt like its own vacation.


Thanks again, and God Bless from Slocomb, AL

-- Steven, Dawn, & Angelica

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Clean, comfortable hotel. Nicely decorated rooms, but some "mars and scars". No elevator, so request a first-floor room if you don't "do" stairs. Friendly, helpful staff. Best breakfast of our trip: large selection of breakfast items including eggs and sausage--suitable for low-carb diets.

Room Tip: No elevator to the second floor. Exterior entrances to rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Breisig, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I had stayed there in fall of 2011 before spending a night there now. The overall cleanliness was worse than i remembered it to be. All the edges of the carpet in our room were dusty. The shower curtain was stained with dirt, so was the ceiling of our room. The A/C was rather loud.The beds were clean though.
The free breakfast is still nice and they have free wifi. Room had fridge and microwave. So it´s still o.k. for a single night, but they should apply more care cleaning up and start renovating the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Salem
Salem Comfort Inn
Quality Inn Salem
Address: 151 Wildwood Rd., Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.