We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2898 Keagy Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Salem
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

My family of 5 has stayed at this property at least 7 times. Up to now we have always been pleased. The last two stays (0ct, of '05) and now we were not pleased with the service of the staff. We arrived at 10:30 and needed a fifth pillow. The front desk said that housekeeping was locked, so she located a lumpy pillow with no case for us to use. The next day I called and requested an ironing board as someone has removed the one in our room. The staff sounded disgruntled and did not produce an iron unti the next day after another phone call. We experienced little things like our room key would not work at 10pm at night. I was told that it had expired. HUH? Overall our 3 night stay will be our last at this property. They have a nice setup but seem to not want to pay staff or keep up the rooms. We visit Roanoke 3+ times a year and are loyal. We had a grim exoerience at this hotel in October and thought we would give them another try. We did and they were worse this visit.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    7
    13
    3
See reviews for
13
10
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Missouri
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

Just returned from a three night stay at this motel and we really enjoyed it. It is four miles off the interstate but easy to find. It is convienent to all of Roanoke, especially the VA Hospital and Lewis Gale Hospital. Quiet rooms--great views. I wish we had been there for the summer so we could have used the pool.
Could use better pillows and the windows in the rooms washed so you could see the views. Other than that, no complaints. I highly recommend this motel; we've stayed close to the airport and close to the interstate in Roanoke before---this was the best.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2005

We've stayed in numerous Comfort Suites over the the years and this property blows the rest away. Only thing I didn't like was the pillows. Rooms are huge, well kept and well appointed. We'll go back to this one.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, WV
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2005

Overall the room was clean, stocked, and in working order. The thing I did not like, as is many times the case with me, were the beds. Mind you, I am a little picky about beds, but I think that is the primary thing a hotel is for, sleeping. Why then, shouldn't I be. The beds in this place were not at all comforitable, and I did not get a good nights sleep, and neither did my wife or kids.

I would absolutely LOVE beyond words to describe it if tripadvisor would have an actual 5 dot review button for BED COMFORT.

Two things we need in shelter, a roof that don't leak and a bed to lie in. :)

Trust me folks, there are places to stay where the beds are as comforitable as home, and even more so. Some hotels spend $129 on a mattress for a room you pay that a night to sleep in. It should be a sin!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2003

Clean, comfortable, large rooms. We didn't use the pool and spa, but they looked very nice. Staff was very friendly. Take home rubber ducky was a special treat for the kids. Continental breakfast was nice with lots of room for guest to dine!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2003

Very nice. Clean Comfortable Rooms - A place to rest and sleep comfortably. Courteous Staff. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Address: 2898 Keagy Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Inn At Ridgewood Farm Hotel Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Hotel
Salem Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.