We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2898 Keagy Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Kingston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice quiet area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Stayed here to attend a Nascar race. Very nice hotel in a scenic area. Great location to start at for numerous sight seeing day trips. 2 restaurants and a Subway less than a 5 min. walk along with a Kroger Grocery store.

Good free breakfast in a nice area in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    8
    13
    4
See reviews for
15
17
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

My family arrived at the hotel to check into their room with the rest of my kid's sports team only to find out that the Agent who took the reservation inadvertently booked us for two nights rather than one. Since we were not in town and unable to check in the day before which is when the Agent booked our room...they canceled our entire reservation and sold our room to another guest. With no rooms available at the hotel and no manager on duty to assist my wife in making other arrangements, we spent more than an hour on the computer and phone trying to find a hotel that had availability. With very few non-smoking rooms available in town, and no one willing to match our group rate of $89 dollars we were forced to shell out $40 more on a room at a Quality Inn MOTEL (a far cry from a Comfort Suites!). I understand that mistakes happen, however this was not an isolated incident as another team family also experienced the same reservation problem. After numerous attempts to contact the Hotel manager in person she chose to settle this dispute with an email offer of 4000 choice international hotel points. It takes 10000 points to get a free night. Very, very poor customer service and no regret what so ever when I told the management that our team would never return to the establishment. The entire situation reminds me of Seinfeld and it went something like this:

Traveler: I don’t understand, I made a reservation, do you have my reservation?
Agent: Yes, we do, unfortunately we ran out of rooms.
Traveler: But the reservation keeps the room open. That’s why you have the reservation.
Agent: I know why we have reservations.
Traveler: I don’t think you do. If you did, I’d have a room. See, you know how to take the reservation, you just don’t know how to *hold* the reservation and that’s really the most important part of the reservation, the holding. Anybody can just take them.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

A staff can make or break a hotel stay, and in this case it ruined what could have been a pleasant experience. The hotel itself is fine. Not fancy, but reasonably clean and in an acceptable location. However, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the breakfast area, the staff was uniformly unfriendly and untrained. For example, over our entire 3 day stay, the room was never cleaned. Instead we found fresh towels in a bag outside our door one morning. The unkempt kid at the front desk at night did not want to respond to questions because he was in the middle of a tv show. The list goes on. You can find better elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

clearly has been a flood of sorts, the carpet is all bunched up, I tripped twice on the way to the elevator. Wallpaper by elevator is peeling, the tile in the elevator is all cracked. I know for certain this has been a smoke-free property for at least two years, yet my room smelled of stale cigarettes and stinky feet. The smell was overwhelming. I had to leave, and I did. Front desk was friendly, understanding - made no apologies, and I don't blame him.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenrier County, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Couldn't ask for nicer employees. Hotel is very quiet; you don't hear noise from other rooms unless in a hallway. Coin operated washer and dryer for wardrobe emergencies. High priced vending machines. Good free breakfast. Conveniently located near a Kroger. Building needs maintenance work.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed here b/c we attended a funeral in town. Was overpriced for the quality of the room; we got a semi-suite. The room was run down & dirty. Mold on the ceiling in the bathroom & carpet was dirty (in corners). The single fabric chair in the room had a stain on it~gross! The beds were incredibly uncomfortable and the bathroom was very dated. For $135 night in Salem I'd expect a lot more. I wouldn't stay any longer than a single night at this hotel. Breakfast was fine & plentiful. I must say the staff was excellent; helpful & polite.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Check in was easy, Staff very nice. Room was very roomy and clean. The beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was very clean also. The breakfast was good. We were only there one night. We were very satisfied.

  • Liked — Convienence to sporting event
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Address: 2898 Keagy Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Inn At Ridgewood Farm Hotel Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Hotel
Salem Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.