We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean luxury on a budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2898 Keagy Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean luxury on a budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopping just for the night as we head home to PA, I booked this room from the road the afternoon of our arrival. You never know what you might find when you do that, and we had to drive a few miles off of I-81 to get here, but it was completely worth it. The lobby, pool area, public spaces inside, and the room were clean, clean, clean! Such a thrill and a relief to have a clean and fresh-smelling room after a long driving day. Lots of bugs in the pool, but we may have landed between skimmings. The front desk clerk was efficient and helpful, the shower had terrific pressure and plenty of elbow room, and the bed was super comfortable - I love the soft, large pillows - they provide plenty!

I would definitely stay here again - no hesitation - I'm impressed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csridgewood, General Manager at Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your encouraging review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us even if it was short term! We hope you will come back and visit soon.

Thank you,

Gabrielle Liegey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    7
    13
    3
See reviews for
13
11
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days a week for 13 weeks, so I was able to see the staff in all kinds of situations. I wouldn't have considered staying anywhere else while I was in Salem. Thank you
Heather, your kindness and attention to detail was greatly appreciated, you are one of the reasons I kept coming back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Got caught in a surprise snow storm and decided to stop here, Great choice in a beautiful location! Delicious, free breakfast. Quiet hotel.Liked it so much we would consider coming back here for a visit instead of passing through.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here on business for one night. Decent rate, but not a great deal. Good fast WiFi supports streaming video, Skype video, NetFlix, etc. Clean, fresh-smelling bed linens appeared to be almost new. Lots of AC outlet locations for chargers, computer plug in. Nice young lady behind the counter.
Couple of cons:
One thing that just didn't fit was the TV. They have nice, large Flat-screen TV's, but the cable feed in the rooms is std. definition and old aspect ratio. So the picture sits in the middle of the screen with a large, unused black border around it, looking just like the old TV they took out probably last year. They need to upgrade their cable service to match the nice TV they have in the rooms.

Secondly, the fitness room was missing a treadmill! Go figure. They had an eliptical device and a weight machine, but no treadmill. Hopefully, they will reconsider this omission and get one in there for business people. Not everyone can lift weights to get their heart rate up, right?

Ceilings seemed a little "thin", since I could hear the guy upstairs when he took a leak.

Bottom line: Place is OK, but better values from Choice exist in the same area. Probably won't use this property unless they get a treadmill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is the 3rd year in a row that we have stayed at this hotel. Every year, the 1st weekend in October, there is a VA Goldwing Rally in Salem. First two years this hotel was 'good.' This year, it was not good. Upon arrival at 3:30 on a Thursday, we were assigned room 118. We took our luggage to the room to discover the room was 'stripped.' No sheets, no blankets, no towels, etc with door open so we concluded room was being cleaned. We took our luggage back to our vehicle and returned to desk, told the clerk about the room and she said, 'it'll be ready sometime today.' Like maybe when we're ready for bed or what? We left to attend the rally functions. When we returned at 9pm we again lugged our luggage downstairs. Upon opening the room door, we found the room in the exact same state: no linens, etc so we dragged our stuff back upstairs. When we told the clerk, she was like, 'oh, well, let me find you another room.' We were given room 307. This room was fine (it had sheets and linens so we weren't complaining.) The ice machines on all floors were not working. On Saturday, we left our room at 11am and returned at 3pm. Due to bad weather we had decided to check out early so we returned to the hotel to get our luggage. Our room had not been cleaned. We took our luggage to our vehicle and went to check out. I asked why our room had not been cleaned and the clerk stated that a 'housekeeper had called in sick.' So I guess you just don't get your room cleaned when that happens. The clerk had trouble checking us out, stating she usually only checks people in, she called someone for help and eventually we departed. The hotel is conveniently located near the LewisGaleMedical Center and is next to a Kroger shopping center.

Room Tip: One with sheets/linens would be good.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Top notch place. Clean. Staff helpful. They even provide a varying menu of eggs, omelets sausages etc for breakfast. This has consistently been a good place stay. One of the best Comfort Inns. It is a little difficult to get to their parking lot. A GPS is helpful, but it is worth getting to, and you are not faced with much traffic getting there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel was the choice of traveling companion. The beds in the first toe rooms were dirty and the third room was a clean bed. At that point I didn't care that housekeeping was an option. I will not stay in this hotel again. The front desk staff was accommodating in finding a clean room. I stayed there 3 days and the room was never vacuumed, I was too afraid to open the refrigerator.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Address: 2898 Keagy Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Inn At Ridgewood Farm Hotel Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Hotel
Salem Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.