We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Comfortable Stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2898 Keagy Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Another Comfortable Stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had a very nice stay while down south for a fall trip. The leaves wern't in full color yet. The breakfast was fabulous Spice flavored Belgin Waffles. Really smelled good,and tasted good too! Eggs & sausage and the regular items too. Really nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    8
    13
    3
See reviews for
15
17
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel over the Labor Day weekend. We were in town to attend a 50th Wedding Anniversary party in Roanoke along with three other family groups. All four rooms had something wrong with them from no lights in the bathroom to air conditioning not working. When we reported the problems to the front desk, we were told that, "We don't have maintenance support over the weekend." No apologies, no offers to move us to different rooms. Tough luck for us.
All of the comments about inept, rude, uncaring staff members are right on! I have traveled extensively for many years for work and stayed in thousands of hotels and have never even come close to the poor, mean-spirited treatment we all received here. One evening, after the anniversary party, we were all tired and decided to get a few pizzas and meet in the common area where breakfast is served. As we visited and talked amongst ourselves, we were approached by the person manning the desk (There is never more than one and good luck trying to find them when you need them!) and told that we would be charged a $150 cleaning fee for using four of the tables to eat our pizza. We were told that the District Manager was at her home watching us on a webcam and had called the desk and instructed the rep to tell us that. We asked to speak with the DM and, to her credit, she actually came to the hotel. When we spoke with her she claimed to have no knowledge of what the desk agent was talking about. She did say that sports teams stay there a lot and leave pretty big messes so they sometimes do charge a cleaning fee. We are not a baseball team. Our group consisted of 2 Grandparents, 5 parents, and 4 kids. Quite a wild group isn't it?
When we explained the problems we were experiencing, the DM, Gabby, apologized and offered us a 50% discount on our rooms. She then advised that the discounts had been entered into the system and that we were "all set" for checkout in the morning. Of course, when we went to checkout, we were charged full price. The morning desk agent, Mike, advised that the information was in the system, but it had not been "finalized" and he could not give us the discount. Mike said that we should just checkout, paying the full price, and they would fix it later in the day, after we left, when the Desk Manager showed up. Not feeling very confident, I asked him to please call the Desk Manager as we would like the matter resolved before we left the hotel. Apparently Mike felt I was being unreasonable and called his manager, Amanda, who came to the hotel and began to verbally berate me and other members of my family. We had never even seen this woman before! I've never seen anyone act like that in my life. If she's not on meds, she probably should be!
At that point Amanda told us that she would be giving us a 15% discount, not a 50% discount. I guess 15% is what you get when there are no lights in your bathroom and you have to carry a lamp from the desk into the bathroom so you can shave and shower.
I could go on and on, but you get the idea by now. Honestly, heed the warnings on tripadvisor.com! Worst staff ever, the hot tub didn't work, all of the equipment in the fitness room was broken, and the pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks.
There is a very nice Hampton Inn right across the street. That's where we'll stay next time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Grande, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We checked in on the Memorial Day weekend, because the hotel had a nice pool and hot tub per the photos. Upon checkin, were told the pool and Hot tub were not open until the Memorial Day Weekend, (what?). We were advised that the pumps had to be checked and pool needed to be inspected but they were delayed by the inspectors, excuse after excuse.

In the morning I asked for some hot water out of the coffee machine, well that was broken. Finally, went to print a one page document from the business office, there was no ink in the printer and staff said they had to order it and didn't have any or know where it was. Also wouldn't print the doc from my flash drive due to the possibility of a virus (you would think the hotel had an antivirus program on their computer system).

Room was ok, but they placed us on the lower level, and the hotel was quiet with few cars in the lot, thought that was weird. Being a diamond elite of choice hotels for two years and giving all of our business to Choice Hotels (we stay approximately 50 - 70 nights per year), certainly did not feel this place was worthy of being a Choice Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and every time is very satisfying. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The hotel has a great view of the mountains from the lobby and if you get a room on the back side of the hotel you get that same view from your window. It's great to wake up to in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Accidentally left some clothes in the closet. Called a few hours later to have someone pick them up. Got a call back that my hangers were there, but not my clothes. Beds had been stripped but room not cleaned. After many calls I was offered a free stay the next time I was in town. Declined the offer - think it's obvious what happened to the clothes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

When we arrived at the hotel, we had to interrupt a conversation two staffers were having in order to check in and they didn't seem to happy about it. The hotel itself was empty, at night we counted less than ten cars(including staff). However we were put on the bottom floor, which is below the lobby on the 2nd floor(weird, right?). We figured that we, being tourists would get a room with a mountain view, nope. Our room had the great view of the intersection of Keagy/Electric. The bottom floor felt dark, too quiet,a little scary. The room itself had a air conditioner didn't stay on for more than five minutes at a time. The beds were hard(our backs still hurt). The website lists "high speed internet" as one of it's features, yet my cellphone had great speed. The toilet broke TWICE, and I had to reach my and in the back and fix it myself. When we tried to get a wakeup call, pressing 0 got no answer, I had to call the ten digit phone number on the brochure, to get someone, and when I did she sounded like I was disturbing her. The staff overall were unfriendly and seemingly oblivious to guests. When we left every morning to go sightseeing, not one words from them as we passed through the lobby. The only good thing about the hotel was the location, close to everything, a great view of the probably much better Hampton Inn, close to a Kroger, hospital. Big TV. Breakfast was OK, not great but not bad. It was not worth the 30000 points it cost to stay here, and I would defiantly not pay money to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Stayed here to attend a Nascar race. Very nice hotel in a scenic area. Great location to start at for numerous sight seeing day trips. 2 restaurants and a Subway less than a 5 min. walk along with a Kroger Grocery store.

Good free breakfast in a nice area in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm

Address: 2898 Keagy Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#6 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Inn At Ridgewood Farm Hotel Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Hotel
Salem Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.