We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Christiansburg, United States
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Room was clean and furniture was well kept. The room was quiet and easily accessible. Front desk staff was very helpful and told me that my rate was lower than I was excepting because I qualified for a discount. Very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    64
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
54
30
20
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed at this Hampton as part of an east coast road trip. We found the 2 gals at the front desk at check in to be EXTREMELY friendly (sorry, can't remember their names). They provided a great reccomendation for dinner/drinks in the area. Hotel is a little different from normal Hampton's as it's on a hill and while we first thought there wasn't any parking left there was actully plenty in a separate lot accessed from the hospital behind the hotel. Room was OK, bed was comfy and room was clean. Will probably be back again next year on the same trip. Thanks for a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Every time I come to this hotel (and it has been often), I feel very much at home. The services is efficient and friendly. It is convenient to the company I consult with, but the service and ambience is the reason I stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was in Salem to go to the Salem Red Sox games at the end of May. The hotel is in a great location to get to everything. And I can't say enough about the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains!! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Loved the laundry, since I was on the road for 3 weeks, which included a TV and reading material. I've used hundreds of hotel laundries and never found anything in them to watch or read. The 2nd floor pool was clean and refreshing, especially in the heat and humidity, and it had nice peaceful surroundings. Except for the lovely breakfast staff, the staff was not particularly welcoming or friendly, as most Hamptons are, but I can live with that if everything else is as it should be. Try Jersey Lily's restaurant across the street for a decent menu and friendly servers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Nice stay as this was our first visit to Salem. Salem Fare was the main attraction of our visit. Overall 95% satisfied with the stay in the hotel. Location was very good. We were able to visit the points of interest easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my favorite hotel on my road trip. I stayed only in Hampton Inns or Hyatt Places. I used the gym and/or the pool at each hotel, and this hotel had my favorite bed, pool, and gym. In addition, the inside of the building is very charming with the second floor balcony overlooking the lobby, and the little nooks with seats and artwork.

Southwest Virginia is absolutely beautiful and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

No issues, nice hotel, friendly people! Only complaint is this survey requires me to add 150 more letters to my review, If was short and sweet, just like my stay at Hampton in, now and in the past. If you have any complaints they stand behind their guarantee. I stay at them whenever I can. If more expensive, you usually get your moneys worth! Hope this is enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.