We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atwater, California, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was in Salem to go to the Salem Red Sox games at the end of May. The hotel is in a great location to get to everything. And I can't say enough about the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains!! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Loved the laundry, since I was on the road for 3 weeks, which included a TV and reading material. I've used hundreds of hotel laundries and never found anything in them to watch or read. The 2nd floor pool was clean and refreshing, especially in the heat and humidity, and it had nice peaceful surroundings. Except for the lovely breakfast staff, the staff was not particularly welcoming or friendly, as most Hamptons are, but I can live with that if everything else is as it should be. Try Jersey Lily's restaurant across the street for a decent menu and friendly servers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    74
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
64
38
22
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Nice stay as this was our first visit to Salem. Salem Fare was the main attraction of our visit. Overall 95% satisfied with the stay in the hotel. Location was very good. We were able to visit the points of interest easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my favorite hotel on my road trip. I stayed only in Hampton Inns or Hyatt Places. I used the gym and/or the pool at each hotel, and this hotel had my favorite bed, pool, and gym. In addition, the inside of the building is very charming with the second floor balcony overlooking the lobby, and the little nooks with seats and artwork.

Southwest Virginia is absolutely beautiful and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

No issues, nice hotel, friendly people! Only complaint is this survey requires me to add 150 more letters to my review, If was short and sweet, just like my stay at Hampton in, now and in the past. If you have any complaints they stand behind their guarantee. I stay at them whenever I can. If more expensive, you usually get your moneys worth! Hope this is enough!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a standard Hampton Inn in layout and room type but everything is clean and proper. Staff is ver< helpful and the breakfast options were very good and nicely presented. If you are into morning exercise forget the gym and fo down for a run along the Raonoke river not far from the hotel. Very nice and then take a dip in the pool afterwards.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have stayed at this property multiple times over the years during my trips to the Roanoke area. This property is always clean and the staff is always courteous. Parking is somewhat of a challenge since there are minimal spots in the front, but the additional parking behind the hotel is more then accommodating once you know where it is located.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This Hampton is one of the very best. Staff was very helpful in every way. Out door pool for the kids and everything lived up to the Hilton Chain. I can't say enough about the hotel. Very clean and the breakfast was Great. The staff for the breakfast was very helpful also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.