We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salem-Roanoke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke Pines, United States
1 review
“Salem-Roanoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Clean and efficient hotel, however, I did not find the bed to be the most comfortable. Unfortunately, I was there for a business trip and did not have the option to change locations which was very convenient and the entire staff was very helpful. In all fairness, I never complained about the bed to the staff. They were all so kind, even helping me by shoveling the snow on my rental car.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    80
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
71
38
22
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rural Retreat, Va., United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is very nice, clean and the staff is very helpful. They even had people there to help us clean off our vehicle after a large snow. The location next to Lewis-Gale Hospital is excellent and it is close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great hotel! Going through renovations, but the hotel is in great shape and the staff are phenomenal!! Breakfast was great and the room was beautiful. The suites are fantastic as well. Not a bad drive to downtown either and connects immediately to the hospital - incredibly convenient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Center, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This Hampton isn't located in a great location, except if you're going to the hospital that's right behind it. The hotel definitely needs some updating and they are doing some of it now. The wallpaper in my room was peeling off the wall. The fixtures, vanity, desk, décor was outdated. I had a room on the second floor, so when I arrived I parked in this tiny lot right outside the entrance to the second floor. I went to dinner and when I returned there were no more spots left. Well there was one, but some person driving a silver Ford fusion parked in two spots. Really?!?!? You drive a little car and you can't get into one spot! I had to maneuver my Chevy 2500 4-door long bed out of this little parking lot...it was like a 100 point turn. Anyways, so I had to go to there upper lot, which according to the sign is one block down and make a right. So, I went one block down and made a right...right into the hospital main driveway. It was dark, so I didn't notice any signs telling me where to go from there. I circled the entire property before noticing a sign saying Hotel Parking. At this point I was pretty upset. I get parked and walk across the catwalk to the hotel. I complained enough. The good points - a nice breakfast and an AWESOME business center! I've never been to a hotel that equips their business center with pretty much everything you could need, as far as office tools go. The computers were fast and the printers were full of paper and ink. I find that in many hotels there are only a few sheets of paper and the toner is low every time I need to use a business center. They also had a 3 hole punch, calculators, staplers, post its, etc. It was great! Even with that great business center, I don't know if I'll be back. As I said, the hotel location isn't great...for me.

Room Tip: I'd have to say a room on the top floor is probably best and if you can park in the upper lot yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The service was very good. The room was clean. The hotel was quiet. I travel to many Hamptons along the east coast. This one was average. The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the quality of the room was average. The hotel will be upgrading soon, perhaps the room will improve with the upgrade. This Hampton is customer oriented.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have stayed in a LOT of Hampton Inns in my years as a road warrior. This one was the absolute BEST one EVER! Upgraded, clean as a whistle, quiet...And the staff was exceptional. STAY HERE! The location was good for our purposes, and near interesting restaurants for Southern Virginia.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn Loring, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great hotel, love the clean quilt cover for every visit! Plugs next to bed, not behind bed should be in every hotel. Breakfast really good and assistance very courteous. Will stay here next year on annual Christmas family visit. Only thing I would change is a higher toilet in the room. Husbands knees do not bend anymore. lol

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.