We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good room get breakfast elsewhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Roanoke, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good room get breakfast elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

room was clean, quiet and staff was great. If you like danish and bagle breakfast this is place for you. Fruit was good but had to eat elsewhere. room door mag card did not work first 3 times but staff was very helpful correcting situation

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    67
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
58
34
21
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Second stay at this Hampton Inn. Room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was typical Hampton breakfast which is more than just the continental breakfast found at some other hotels. Staff was knowledgable and courteous. Parking could be an issue, but I have not experienced it---there is an alternate parking area close by. May be a little pricey for some. I would stay here again. CVS close so you can buy comfort items you left at home. If new to the area, my GPS helped me find the hotel from the airport since this hotel is not near a main Roanoke interstate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

From my initial contact with the Manger on Duty, Lynn, everything was fantastic. I called a day ahead of my arrival to request an early check in to allow me to freshen up prior to my 3:00 meeting. Lynn was able to accommodate me and my room was ready when I arrived at 2 PM the next day. All contact with staff members was quite positive during my 3 day stay. The fitness room was more than adequate, and the location of the hotel was within close proximity to a variety of restaurants and shopping areas. This was my 3rd time staying at this location and it won't be the last.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty well maintained. I found my room to be clean, although the bed wasn't the most comfortable I've slept in. Parking was always available, although you had to drive around the block and through the hospital parking garage to find additional parking if you were returning to the hotel late, as all the spots up front filled up by then. Thankfully, they provide you a map when you check in so you can find this parking lot, but it is still a little hard to navigate. They also give you a list of restaurants with addresses, which I liked.
The staff was very kind and helpful. Always pleasant.
Across the street are a few restaurants and a grocery store, so that made it a pretty convenient location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hampon Inn in Salam, Va near Lewis Gale Hospital is a excellent alternative for Va. Tech Hokie fans to stay at during Hokie home games. The staff is very good, the hotel is clean and ofers services such as breakfast, internet connectivity, fitness area and pool. There is a delightful outdoor seating area to enjoy breakfast and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Second time we stayed at this hotel. Accommodations are typical for Hampton Inn - always great!! Very nice foyer and breakfast area. Rooms are clean and very nice. Love the bed! Will stay again when back in area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The one postive that I liked is my room was a suite which I did not ask for. So I was pleasently surprised by that. The negatives: The bathroom had hair all in the tub, there was very little toilet paper and there was not any extra, the sink had not been cleaned and there were stains on the wall. The bed smelled musty as did the room. Not impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.