We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Salem
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was working at a nearby hospital, and this was a very convenient location with restaurants close by. Clean, and nice patio to sit and relax at in the back. The staff was helpful, and friendly. I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    52
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
48
29
19
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Easley, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

room was not cleaned each day. Soap and coffee not restocked. reported to front desk each day. Now I am trying t have 200 characters. You do not need a minimum character for this section. now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of his country

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Salem Hampton was a bit challenging to get to, however very worth the visit! It took us 20 minutes, after arriving in the Roanoke/Salem area, by GPS to get to this hotel with very limited parking. The hotel was immaculate! The rooms amazing! The desk staff was incredible and led us, easily, to a local eatery that wasn't listed in it's room resource book -and was still open at 10pm. The receipts actually listed the local weather! I have to say, I'd stay here again! Oh, but be very careful.. the deer are continually jumping out of the mountain on to the highway... a recommendation to drive slower than the posted speed limit was VERY helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed 5 days this time. Hotel is clean and enough function for business travellers. I could relax after work and enjoy a piece of cookie and hot coffee while web surfing in the internet. Although I was lazy enough not to use fitness room, but it is there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would like to recommend the Hampton Inn in Salem Va. near the Lewis Gale hospital for anyone spending a few days in the Roanoke Va. vicinity. I recently attended a High School reunion in the area and booked a room there for three nights. The rooms were very clean, and they changed all the linens, every day. The breakfast buffet was very nice, especially the omelets and pastries. I had a problem with the phone in the room and was unable to retrieve messages left for me by my old school mates. The staff was unable to solve the problem, but they offered to upgrade to another room. They also managed to retrieve a couple of the messages, enabling me to reconnect with my friends. Since we had already unpacked, we declined the upgrade, but they reduced the nightly rate for the annoyance of not having an operable phone. All in all, I give the management top marks for their attitude and dedication to customer service.

Room Tip: If there is anything wrong with the room, let the front desk know immediately and they will take car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Elegant, moderately priced place to stay - private rooms and common areas are all well kept and cheerful. The hotel staff is professional and friendly. The breakfast offers an array of hot and cold options for people on the go. The breakfast area is cheerful and well-maintained. When rooms are available, I would not think of staying anywhere other than here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Starting at the reception the people were very friendly. The room was quiet and clean. The hotel has a big parking lot and a small shopping center (including a CVS) is right across the street. The only thing to complain about is the breakfast. This tastes really like nothing, on the second day we ended up going to the "Pancake House" which is close by and serves nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.