We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option in Salem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Salem
Potomac, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Great option in Salem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I recently had an unexpected stay at the Hampton Inn due to a death in the family. I was so impressed with how clean and quiet the hotel was. The breakfast was tasty and there were plenty of choices - much better than the usual danish and lukewarm coffee. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    52
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
48
29
19
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I don't usually stay at Hampton Inn's but when I do, I prefer to stay at their newer ones. Unfortunately, for my last trip to this area, I had to stay here instead of Hotel Roanoke. Obviously, they are 2 different hotels but Hampton Inn's are great when they are newer but this one was an older one. Room decor was a bit outdated, beds were comfy, bathrooms outdated, basic breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for food options, shopping and hospital. The lobby renovation is complete and looks great. More open with optional seating now. The front desk and housekeeping are very pleasant and receptive to requests. Breakfast is always great and the server is always smiling and checking to see if you would like anything else. The rooms are clean and quiet. I had a room near the elevator and never heard it. The only real negative to the stay was the door that leads out to the small balcony had a gap and cold air come in to the room. It was also secured by a single bolt that I was not sure was a great security measure. As a woman, we worry about room security. Overall, this is a great hotel for the location and I would book here again in the future.

Room Tip: My room had a whirlpool bathroom that really helps you prepare for sleep after a long day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Experienced a couple of problems due to housekeeping "oversight". Otherwise the food and room was nice and staff was very pleasant. Hotel lobby was being remodeled but didn't seem to bother us. Liked the cookies in the early evening.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor right off the lobby and kept hearing motors running. I think it was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Here for 5 days while on business. Lobby being remodeled but no real impact on the visit. Check in was quick and pleasant. Breakfast typical Hampton, and I love the grab and go breakfast for that mid morning snack. Room was clean and comfortable. Fast easy internet access (and free!). Will definitely stay here next time I am in Roanoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

You know what you're gonna get with Hampton. Nothing fancy, just solid hotel. Rooms seem a little bit dated. Plenty of working outlets. They are remodeling in the lobby, but no big deal. I'm not familiar with the area, but seems to be a decent location. Short drive to Roanoke.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acton,ont. canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here for a few days. Day trip to the Blue Ridge Folk festival in Ferrum, Vi. and to the Nasscar race in Martinsville,Vi., this was a great place to stay for a base to venture forth and see all that Virginia, and West Virginia has to offer. The hotel staff were great and very friendly. The Hotel was under renovations, but everything was all in working order and you would never know anything was other than normal.

Room Tip: Great place to stay for a base, and then travel to the wonderful sites and festivals that Virginia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salem
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.