We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option in Salem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Great option in Salem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I recently had an unexpected stay at the Hampton Inn due to a death in the family. I was so impressed with how clean and quiet the hotel was. The breakfast was tasty and there were plenty of choices - much better than the usual danish and lukewarm coffee. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    85
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
86
44
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I don't usually stay at Hampton Inn's but when I do, I prefer to stay at their newer ones. Unfortunately, for my last trip to this area, I had to stay here instead of Hotel Roanoke. Obviously, they are 2 different hotels but Hampton Inn's are great when they are newer but this one was an older one. Room decor was a bit outdated, beds were comfy, bathrooms outdated, basic breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for food options, shopping and hospital. The lobby renovation is complete and looks great. More open with optional seating now. The front desk and housekeeping are very pleasant and receptive to requests. Breakfast is always great and the server is always smiling and checking to see if you would like anything else. The rooms are clean and quiet. I had a room near the elevator and never heard it. The only real negative to the stay was the door that leads out to the small balcony had a gap and cold air come in to the room. It was also secured by a single bolt that I was not sure was a great security measure. As a woman, we worry about room security. Overall, this is a great hotel for the location and I would book here again in the future.

Room Tip: My room had a whirlpool bathroom that really helps you prepare for sleep after a long day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Experienced a couple of problems due to housekeeping "oversight". Otherwise the food and room was nice and staff was very pleasant. Hotel lobby was being remodeled but didn't seem to bother us. Liked the cookies in the early evening.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor right off the lobby and kept hearing motors running. I think it was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Here for 5 days while on business. Lobby being remodeled but no real impact on the visit. Check in was quick and pleasant. Breakfast typical Hampton, and I love the grab and go breakfast for that mid morning snack. Room was clean and comfortable. Fast easy internet access (and free!). Will definitely stay here next time I am in Roanoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

You know what you're gonna get with Hampton. Nothing fancy, just solid hotel. Rooms seem a little bit dated. Plenty of working outlets. They are remodeling in the lobby, but no big deal. I'm not familiar with the area, but seems to be a decent location. Short drive to Roanoke.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acton,ont. canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here for a few days. Day trip to the Blue Ridge Folk festival in Ferrum, Vi. and to the Nasscar race in Martinsville,Vi., this was a great place to stay for a base to venture forth and see all that Virginia, and West Virginia has to offer. The hotel staff were great and very friendly. The Hotel was under renovations, but everything was all in working order and you would never know anything was other than normal.

Room Tip: Great place to stay for a base, and then travel to the wonderful sites and festivals that Virginia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#4 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.