We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Saugerties, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Business Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Here for 5 days while on business. Lobby being remodeled but no real impact on the visit. Check in was quick and pleasant. Breakfast typical Hampton, and I love the grab and go breakfast for that mid morning snack. Room was clean and comfortable. Fast easy internet access (and free!). Will definitely stay here next time I am in Roanoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    60
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
51
30
20
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

You know what you're gonna get with Hampton. Nothing fancy, just solid hotel. Rooms seem a little bit dated. Plenty of working outlets. They are remodeling in the lobby, but no big deal. I'm not familiar with the area, but seems to be a decent location. Short drive to Roanoke.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acton,ont. canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here for a few days. Day trip to the Blue Ridge Folk festival in Ferrum, Vi. and to the Nasscar race in Martinsville,Vi., this was a great place to stay for a base to venture forth and see all that Virginia, and West Virginia has to offer. The hotel staff were great and very friendly. The Hotel was under renovations, but everything was all in working order and you would never know anything was other than normal.

Room Tip: Great place to stay for a base, and then travel to the wonderful sites and festivals that Virginia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is right outside the hospital, but there is not much around in terms of restaurants. The hotel is ok, not as nice as all of the newly upgraded Hamptons, but not bad either. The rooms are clean and staff is nice. If you need to stay in this area, I would recommend this hotel. I actually slept great while I was here (which was unusual).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I really liked this Hampton Inn. The interior had a Williamsburg feel, very nice decor. The front desk staff were extremely helpful, with directions and a list of area restaurants. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Including trays to take breakfast to your room if you prefer. Nice touch.
Our room, a suite, was two rooms. A very large bedroom, large bath, kitchenette, and sitting room with a pull out couch. Two flat screen TV's, so my husband could watch sports, when I cared not to.
We had one small problem, our king bed had a queen fitted sheet. When you sat on the bed, the corners came off . Housekeeping was more than happy to replace the sheet, with apologies and a big smile. They asked often if we needed anything more several times. The halls and rooms were very clean.
The pool area was comfortable and quiet, where I could sit outside and read, while my husband was working one day. Unlike most hotels, they keep the pool open as long as the weather is warm. Very unusual.
There is a view of the mountains. Despite the proximity to the hospital, it was very quiet.
The bed, and pillows were very comfy.
I definitly will stay here again.
The two things I would change: The reception desk could wear some type of uniforms, i.e. matching shirts, jackets, logo polo's. To look a little more professional. And the kitchenettes in the suites, had no plates, silverware, napkins or paper towels, that would be perfect.

Room Tip: The Krogers across the street has many prepared meals, salads, and sandwiches for those travelers th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This Hampton Inn is right in front of a hospital but if you did'nt know you won't notice. Very quiet hotel. We stayed for 2 nights and did not hear a single ambulance come in at the Er.

At the front of the hotel is parkingspace available. When full there is a lot at the back of the hotel.
The hotel itself was different on the inside than others. It had a antique feel to it in a positive and nice way. Very tastefull receptionarea and lounge.

The room was spacious. Very clean.
Staff was very helpfull and kind.
Breakfast as always more than enough. Plenty of fresh fruits.
Good Wifi speed

If you're on the road, traveling, you can do your laundry if you want to.

We would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Though it takes about 45 minutes to get to the parking area from here.

Clean hotel, nice folks, solid breakfast.

Pretty much what you expect from a Hampton. The rooms are clean and neat. Plenty of restaurants nearby--though not anything I would consider fine.

If I come back, I'll come back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.