We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This Hampton Inn is right in front of a hospital but if you did'nt know you won't notice. Very quiet hotel. We stayed for 2 nights and did not hear a single ambulance come in at the Er.

At the front of the hotel is parkingspace available. When full there is a lot at the back of the hotel.
The hotel itself was different on the inside than others. It had a antique feel to it in a positive and nice way. Very tastefull receptionarea and lounge.

The room was spacious. Very clean.
Staff was very helpfull and kind.
Breakfast as always more than enough. Plenty of fresh fruits.
Good Wifi speed

If you're on the road, traveling, you can do your laundry if you want to.

We would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    85
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
86
45
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Though it takes about 45 minutes to get to the parking area from here.

Clean hotel, nice folks, solid breakfast.

Pretty much what you expect from a Hampton. The rooms are clean and neat. Plenty of restaurants nearby--though not anything I would consider fine.

If I come back, I'll come back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

When we visit Virginia Tech we usually stay at the Hampton Inn in Christiansburg but I waited too long to make reservations for move in week. Since I would prefer to stay at a Hampton Inn a little further out than stay at another chain closer to Tech, we stayed here. Although it's an older property and is showing it's age, it has all the amenities I expect in a Hampton property - clean, comfortable, quiet rooms and a decent breakfast. The breakfast area is small but a letter from the manager left in the room indicates that they will soon be expanding the breakfast and lobby areas. Plenty of parking between the front and back lots which was pretty easy to reach. Nothing confusing about getting to it. Definitely stay here again if we need an alternate location to the Christiansburg Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsett, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

First time in Roanoke area. Hotel convenient to all points of interest and great accommodations.
Hotel staff very helpful, rooms clean . Hotel staff were eager to point out place of interest and travel directions. Made our trip much more enjoyable and pleasant. Thank you Hampton for your assistance.

Room Tip: Salem nice place to sightsee and when there try Mac and Bob for a great meal. Service Food and pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at this Hampton Inn for an overnight business trip. I'd stayed here before and it's a nice hotel--clean, friendly staff, comfortable. The only drawback on this stay is that I could smell the cigarette smoke from a smoking room in my non-smoking room. The smell became so bad during the night that it woke me up. Since it was the strongest in the bathroom (which I thought was a bit odd), I closed the door and that seemed to help. But, bright and early I was awakened by the smoky smell again. It was a bit frustrating as a non-smoker whose allergies are irritated by cigarette smoke.

The location of the hotel, however, is fantastic. It's within walking distance of several restaurants and after a long drive to get here it's nice to be able to take a little walk to grab a bite to eat. And, as I said, the staff is incredibly friendly. They always have a smile on their faces and are more than willing to help with suggestions, directions, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times, mostly when I am in town to coach a youth baseball team in the many tournaments Salem hosts, but also when I had a minor procedure done at Lewis Gale and to attend a concert. I have written positive reviews about this place before, because this is an excellent property with a very friendly and helpful staff. I travel a lot and when possible, I usually choose Hilton brand hotels and this is one of the best. On this trip, what started out as a little glitch reinforced all the positive things I love about this place.

I booked the reservation on-line through the Hilton Honors website on August 8th for August 11th, or so I thought. When I arrived at the hotel after being in the sun for 10 hours coaching 16 year olds at Kiwanis Field, they could not find my reservation. I looked up the confirmation number on my smart phone (which by the way the 16 year olds had to teach me how to use) and the front desk clerk typed it in and said the reservation was for the 8th and since I didn't show up they had charged my card. I was pretty sure I had typed in the correct date, but I also know that sometimes if things dont go perfectly, a website can default to the current date. She was extremely helpful. She took my information and wrote a note for the manager and gave me a number to call Hilton Honors since I had booked through them to see if maybe there was a glitch in the system.

Well, on the very next business day, I got an email from the hotel manager saying he would be glad to adjust the charge since I stayed on the 11th. I don't know for sure if the mistake was mine or the fault of a glitch in the website. But I can tell you one thing, I already loved this place, but this really convinced me that I will certainly stay there in the future anytime I visit the Salem/Roanoke area.

I was really tired that night and didn't want to drive, so the staff arranged a cab to take me to and from my favorite Salem restaurant, the Blue Apron. It is really nice to find such a world class restaurant in the middle of a relatively small community. If you have doubts, look up the reviews of the Blue Apron on TripAdvisor, or other sites. It truly is world class.

If you are looking for a very clean and well appointed property with a super staff to stay when visiting the Salem/Roanoke area, give this place a try. And if you want to walk to dinner, my favorite Chinese restaurant in all of SW VA, the Sechuan, is just across the street. Not a buffett, but a full service restaurant with excellent food and service.

Room Tip: They have a variety of choices...two beds, King, King with Jacuzzi, egtc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

One of the finest Hampon Inn's we've found in this country. Such a nice surprise. Check In was a breeze. The front desk was very nice offering area dining options. The hotel grounds are splendid, nicely landscaped and very inviting. The hotel interior is beautifully decorated. You could spend hours discovering all the great artwork on display. It's like a fine art gallery. The pool area was clean and the water nice (just a bit chilly). The free breakfast was typical Hampton Inn excellent. Free wifi worked great. We love Virginia and the Blue Ridge Parkway, and we'll never forget our visit to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#4 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.