We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at hospital and near food and civic center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Salem
Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel at hospital and near food and civic center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

Only Hampton I have visited with a spiral staircase. Really sweet lady at breakfast bar and friendly front desk folks. If you have someone in Lewis Gale hospital this is a great place to stay. You can walk between buildings easily and can get food to prepare across the street at leotard.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    47
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
38
27
17
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I was torn between giving this hotel an average or a very good overall rating because it really was a nice, clean, comfortable stay. The reason I can really only give it an average though, is that the room itself was dated. While the bathroom was very clean and SUPER spacious (it even had a jetted tub separate from the large walk-in shower), the countertops were plain laminate, instead of the nice granite tops and more upscale furnishings at most Hampton Inn locations. If they just did a quick face-lift of a few of the furnishings/paint/carpet, it would make a WORLD of difference because, otherwise, the place is really nice.

I appreciated that the room had a sitting area with a dining room table, microwave, and fridge. I was able to sit comfortably at the table and eat the Chinese food I had delivered from across the street (since it was raining and I didn't want to go out in the wet/cold) and worked on my computer. Free wi-fi is expected at Hampton Inn's and I was pleased to have no issue with the connection.

I had a perfectly fine stay, felt safe, and had a great night's sleep followed by a wonderful free breakfast of waffles, warm oatmeal and muffins, so no complaints here! I would just be overrating this hotel if I made it sound like it was luxurious in any way. It was just average but has potential to be really outstanding. But, in that area, it probably doesn't make sense to put so much of an investment into nicer accommodations because there is nothing else around that even comes close to the quality of this average Hampton Inn. I can appreciate that they probably put their funds more directly into paying their staff than spending a lot on more expensive granite countertops in the bathrooms and such. That said, it would take things to a whole new level if they did a few renovations.

All in all, you will have a perfectly good stay at this hotel, a great night's sleep, and have a hot shower in the morning. Add on the free breakfast, free wi-fi, and free parking, and you can't beat it and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a nice hotel in Salem. However, if you are able to stay about 20 minutes away, the Hotel Roanoke Conference Center is absolutely out of this world!!! I wrote a review and posted pics of it as well.

Attached are pictures from my room-- enjoy! I hope you found this review helpful!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haw River, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I've stayed here multiple times and this is my goto hotel in the Roanoke area. It is a little bit farther out in Salem but still easily accessible to downtown Roanoke. Beautiful lobby, good service and a nice, clean comfortable room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Well a Hampton Inn is usually very consistent on room standards and quality across all of there properties throughout the US and this one is no different.
Upon checking in the evening Guest Service Associate was very cold and was just going through the very basics. My check in was extremely unwelcoming and cold. The Breakfast Hostess moved very slow which I didn't mind at all because she was so nice and enjoyable. A great attitude and a smile goes a long ways! The breakfast itself was substandard and was laid out very ackwardly and cannot be properly accessed when just a few people are at the breakfast bar let alone a crowd of several people. Regardless the property is clean and had good internet connectivity, but their breakfast was just not enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed in two room suite on the 6th floor and I would describe the hotel as average at best. The room was clean but out dated, when I turned the heat on it had a "burnt" smell to it. My smoke detector agreed as it was set off by this scent... very strange. There are many annoyances to this hotel. My room was mistakenly given to another man with my same last name. An understandable mistake but this would set the tone for a litany of other nuances. The parking at the hotel can be problematic at times; you will need to drive around the back toward the hospital. This will give you access to the rear of the hotel which you can enter on the 4th floor. The continental breakfast was less to be desired; it consisted of a cheese omelet, the cheese being nacho cheese. Don't get me wrong... I nacho cheese is great, maybe not on my egg though. Even the elevator was a bit fickle; once you press the floor an additional press of the button to close the door is required.

It is not a terrible hotel and would likely go back just a few nuances to know about.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I checked in on 10/30 for a weeks stay, first room was in for 4 nights, room was great, nice, clean, no complaints, had to move for the 5th night due to someone booking the room for that night. Was moved next door, so was easy to open doors and move from one room to other. he 2nd room, was TIGHT, and whoever the Housekeeping person was DIDN"T CLEAN bathroom very well. Found black hair all over bathroom, from toilet, to shower, to the top of the haidryer and all over the bathroom. had the housekeeping supervisor come in to see, she was very sorry, tried cleaning the bathroom, but didn't get all the hair. Felt something more should have been done, Housekeeping supervisor said same thing but nothing was done. Over all experience was good, just will stay on another floor when I return....

Room Tip: Check bathroom well, make sure no hairs on toilet, hairdryer, door, floor etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My room was on the third floor. For some reason I am always on the third floor. Nice hotel, good location. The amenities were good during my 4 day stay. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and neat. Everything you would expect from a Hampton, and not aging as some on here have stated. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Roanoke Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn
Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.