We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My goto Hotel in the Roanoke Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Salem
Haw River, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My goto Hotel in the Roanoke Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I've stayed here multiple times and this is my goto hotel in the Roanoke area. It is a little bit farther out in Salem but still easily accessible to downtown Roanoke. Beautiful lobby, good service and a nice, clean comfortable room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    51
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
48
29
18
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Well a Hampton Inn is usually very consistent on room standards and quality across all of there properties throughout the US and this one is no different.
Upon checking in the evening Guest Service Associate was very cold and was just going through the very basics. My check in was extremely unwelcoming and cold. The Breakfast Hostess moved very slow which I didn't mind at all because she was so nice and enjoyable. A great attitude and a smile goes a long ways! The breakfast itself was substandard and was laid out very ackwardly and cannot be properly accessed when just a few people are at the breakfast bar let alone a crowd of several people. Regardless the property is clean and had good internet connectivity, but their breakfast was just not enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed in two room suite on the 6th floor and I would describe the hotel as average at best. The room was clean but out dated, when I turned the heat on it had a "burnt" smell to it. My smoke detector agreed as it was set off by this scent... very strange. There are many annoyances to this hotel. My room was mistakenly given to another man with my same last name. An understandable mistake but this would set the tone for a litany of other nuances. The parking at the hotel can be problematic at times; you will need to drive around the back toward the hospital. This will give you access to the rear of the hotel which you can enter on the 4th floor. The continental breakfast was less to be desired; it consisted of a cheese omelet, the cheese being nacho cheese. Don't get me wrong... I nacho cheese is great, maybe not on my egg though. Even the elevator was a bit fickle; once you press the floor an additional press of the button to close the door is required.

It is not a terrible hotel and would likely go back just a few nuances to know about.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I checked in on 10/30 for a weeks stay, first room was in for 4 nights, room was great, nice, clean, no complaints, had to move for the 5th night due to someone booking the room for that night. Was moved next door, so was easy to open doors and move from one room to other. he 2nd room, was TIGHT, and whoever the Housekeeping person was DIDN"T CLEAN bathroom very well. Found black hair all over bathroom, from toilet, to shower, to the top of the haidryer and all over the bathroom. had the housekeeping supervisor come in to see, she was very sorry, tried cleaning the bathroom, but didn't get all the hair. Felt something more should have been done, Housekeeping supervisor said same thing but nothing was done. Over all experience was good, just will stay on another floor when I return....

Room Tip: Check bathroom well, make sure no hairs on toilet, hairdryer, door, floor etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My room was on the third floor. For some reason I am always on the third floor. Nice hotel, good location. The amenities were good during my 4 day stay. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and neat. Everything you would expect from a Hampton, and not aging as some on here have stated. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This hotel is showing it's age, doors stick in the room, faucet handles come off when you use them. Elevated concerns to management and was basically told if I didn't like it to stay somewhere else. I had a problem with my bill and the General Manager / Owner told me I was stupid! Find somewhere else to stay!

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This review reflects our most recent stay (previous one was in 2005), but nothing much has changed --- a very nice hotel and pleasant experience. This is a high-rise Hampton Inn, built as such, and is obviously geared to the business and medical community in which it is located (right next to Roanoke/Salem’s major medical center). The facility is Extremely Clean, nice and comfortable, with Very Good beds and pillows, ample seating and shelf space and Very Good lighting. The same applies to the bathroom, which has a Very Good shower, lighting and shelf pace as well as four sets of Good towels. Although not new, the facility has been very well maintained, has a very nice common area and Very Good security. Staff attitude was extremely pleasant, upbeat, and helpful. The weakest point for this hotel on this recent trip was a mattress pad that was too small for the bed and tended to get bunched up making for a lumpy bed. Newspapers are complimentary as is full-service WiFi throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Rm 103 is on the front, 1st floor, away from the traffic on Electric Blvd. Very quiet and very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.