We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Stay --- Excellent Facility and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“An Excellent Stay --- Excellent Facility and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This review reflects our most recent stay (previous one was in 2005), but nothing much has changed --- a very nice hotel and pleasant experience. This is a high-rise Hampton Inn, built as such, and is obviously geared to the business and medical community in which it is located (right next to Roanoke/Salem’s major medical center). The facility is Extremely Clean, nice and comfortable, with Very Good beds and pillows, ample seating and shelf space and Very Good lighting. The same applies to the bathroom, which has a Very Good shower, lighting and shelf pace as well as four sets of Good towels. Although not new, the facility has been very well maintained, has a very nice common area and Very Good security. Staff attitude was extremely pleasant, upbeat, and helpful. The weakest point for this hotel on this recent trip was a mattress pad that was too small for the bed and tended to get bunched up making for a lumpy bed. Newspapers are complimentary as is full-service WiFi throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Rm 103 is on the front, 1st floor, away from the traffic on Electric Blvd. Very quiet and very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    64
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
56
34
20
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St-Bernard de Lacolle, Qc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I want to comment on this facility. My opinion reflect my room and only the room that was assign to us (406)

Before I reserve, I ask the age of the hotel. I was told 13 years but remodel with statement was not true.

I have to say that the front desk personnels was polite and helpful.

The manager apologize for the bad quality for the stay.

The business center is well maintain, provide 2 computers ands printers, everything you need

There was no water bottle in the gym room.

There is many sign on aging in and out of our room (406):

1) Wall paper not stick to the wall
2) Noisy Air Conditioning and plus, not automatic
3) Refrigerator very noisy and as to be unplug
5) Chair in the lobby broken
6) find that the phone on night stand not working after a false fire alarm around 3:10 in the morning, as to use cell phone. The attendant said that it was normal since couple of room are connected on the same phone line of the alarm system.
7) Carpet in elevator dirty
8) Pool paint fade
9) No air conditioning in corridor
10) Sheet rock joint broken in rest room

Breakfast
1) breakfast is minimal, no water and no milk
2) The breakfast room is small

I did not have to pay for my stay. I would prefer a good night stay rather than to be reimburse. I was not rested and it make my day of driving to Philadelphia more longer since I was really tired. I could say one thing, the Hampton Inn in Raleigh (Capital Boulevard was more than perfect). I think that hotel should be remodel and they should improve the staff in order to see detail like I notice like a non working phone on night stand.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Nice place, comparable to other Hampton Inns. Stayed here for 2 nights as a stopover point to and from Washington DC. Location is a little bit out of the way if you are passing through. There are a few restaurants in the general area but not a lot. Otherwise, it was a pleasant place to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

The Hampton Inn in Salem, Virginia is pretty typical of the more contemporary hotels in this chain. It is located next to a large medical center, and perhaps that is the reason that it was full during my stay. The breakfast was similar to other Hampton Inns, although the dining area was small and elbow-to-elbow. There is a nice outdoor swimming pool with a very pleasant deck. I was not able to get the requested queen or king-size bed. The double bed seemed larger than the standard double bed, although I found it soft and saggy for my preferences. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful, and the free parking and wireless Internet service made the stay a better value than many competing hotels. If you are looking for a good restaurant, the Chianti Restaurant is excellent and very nearby.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I am a business traveler who spends on average 2-3 nights per week at a Hampton Inn and love the chain. I have never been treated as poorly as I was at this location. The staff was rude and unprofessional right up through the manager. The parking at this location can also be a problem as their lot is extreemly small and your option is to park at the hospital next door. I would recommend choosing one of the other Hampton locations in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Staff member in the breakfast area greeted each guest in the room. Nice touch. Rooms are fairly basic but comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights because I had to go to Roanoke to take the bar exam. The hotels down near the Convention center were all booked, so I made reservations at Hampton Inn because I've always had good experiences there. I was not disappointed. The great breakfast every day made it so easy to eat before I had to go to the exam. It was not too far of a drive to get to the Convention center once I figured out the directions. And it was very nice to come back to the comfy hotel after each day of the exam and relax in a nice place. There are also cookies in the kitchen area every day. The bed was comfortable, the room was great, the staff was very nice. Wifi in rooms. I was happy with it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem

Address: 1886 Electric Road, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem Hotel Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
Salem Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.