We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you are traveling with a pet!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Salem to your Saves list
Days Inn Salem
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1535 East Main Street, Salem, VA 24153 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% Summer Sale
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good if you are traveling with a pet!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had to take an emergency trip due to a death in the family and we needed to bring our dog along. There weren't many hotels willing to take pets so we stayed here. It was supposed to be a non-smoking room but it clearly was not. We had to open doors and windows to get the smoke out. The room otherwise was reasonably clean especially the bathroom. I would not stay there again if we do not have the dog with us because there are other properties along the way that are nicer in about the same price range.

One great thing was the breakfast, not so much the food, but the elderly woman serving it was so nice and hospitable. She was our morning inspiration.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    55
    22
    20
See reviews for
68
28
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel looks like a family operation....and they all scurry around like ants and make sure the place is well maintained every day. I always worry about what sort of unmentionable germs lurk on hotel carpets, but they were in there doing Stanley Steemer on all the carpets one day while I stayed. They had a very nice breakfast, and an elderly woman (I think she must have been about 90) who smiled and chatted and kept everything stocked, and would prepare waffles. She was the high point of my visit. They gave her a couple of days off, and I have to say that the breakfast was not run nearly as well in her absence. My one criticism of this hotel, is a badly stocked breakfast on those days. However they are really nice people who work hard to run a nice hotel. It's not the newest or prettiest, but it's a great value, and I would go back there without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were very satisfied. Great rate, quiet room, excellent extras (wifi, hot brkfst, etc). Very helpful staff. Excellent location with dining and auto service handy. Plan to stay again on future Interstate 81 trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
467 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Clean, quiet and comfortable. What more do you need? There is a fridge and micro and a TV. The bed was comfortable, the bath area adequate and clean withe plenty of towels.
We liked it that we could park the car right outside our door.
Good breakfast in a nice spacious dining area - with the usual. Breads, waffles, hardboiled eggs, etc.
Nice friendly people at the front desk too.
This is a good choice for your stay on the road. Good location for traveling and a good price.

Room Tip: First floor gives you the option of parking right outside the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#4 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Salem

Address: 1535 East Main Street, Salem, VA 24153 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.