We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three day stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Salem to your Saves list
Days Inn Salem
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1535 East Main Street, Salem, VA 24153 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Three day stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a five star/two star accommodation. The staff were helpful and honest. The room was clean and cleaned every day of our four night stay. The Fridge had a separate freezer. There was a desk and a table, both had their own chairs. For breakfast, there was plenty of what was offered. The beds were very comfortable. The price was right. Keeping in mind this is a 2 star hotel, we had a five star stay. The only short coming was the exercise room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    41
    49
    19
    18
See reviews for
61
24
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the same room on 2 different occasions. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Rooms and bathroom clean which is more important than all the other amenities. Would definitely stay again when in the area since traveling with medium size dog.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Moving my daughter from Washington, D.C. to Alabama, this was a good spot to stop for the night and get a good night's rest...and it happened!! Close to I-81 and fuel, food and a Starbuck's. Comfortable beds and quiet room with no antiseptic or smokey odor. Good room for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Besides the cracked ceiling, uninvited spider, and ghetto lampshade (3 different shades of beige), the room was NOT clean enough for us to even put our bags down without thinking it might be better and cleaner to hold them by our teeth. There was no hope of using the shower - stained tub and missing drain piece (?), and also wet carpet in the bedroom area. Whatever was on the carpet made my feet stick to my flop flops. Constant light sneaking in through cracks in the curtains, incredibly irritating noises from other guests (car horns, slamming trunks, cars driving by, people being loud and inconsiderate of the people like us who were in bed at 12am) throughout the night kept me constantly on edge and kept us from sleeping for our hours of driving the next day. I ended up trying to sleep in the chair offered because I wasn't quite sure if I could trust the bed. If you'd like to be in the car with your family not speaking a single word to any of them because everyone is so frazzled and disheveled from their stay at this dive, go ahead and stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Nyack, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here before. Average is the best I can say. This time the shower head was not working properly, and the bathroom could have been cleaner. At breakfast, they really did not keep the food items and coffee replenished unless you asked. Only one person covering the desk and the breakfast bar.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Salem

Address: 1535 East Main Street, Salem, VA 24153 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.