We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parents' Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Salem to your Saves list
Days Inn Salem
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1535 East Main Street, Salem, VA 24153 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salem
AMHERST
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Parents' Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The staff and service was excellent as it has always been. We stayed in 2 rooms and found each to be clean. The tub drains were slow to empty in both rooms. The first room had an alarm clock that blinked constantly and we were told that this would be addressed right away. The beds in the first room were not comfortable but my wife and I have differing opinions about the mattress and box spring. I thought that the bed was very firm and my wife thought that the bed's boxspring was soft. The bed in the second room was much more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    42
    16
    17
See reviews for
58
22
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This motel is a bit dated but not bad for the money. I was in town for a baseball tournament and the properties I usually stay at were sold out due to several local events. I stayed here pretty much out of necessity. The room (king, non-smoking) was clean and well equipped with a refrigerator/freezer, cable tv, and free wifi that worked very well.

The only criticism of the room was that the recliner was very old, dirty and stained, which was a surprise given the overall cleanliness of the room. The property was full and the parking lot was tight for larger vehicles.

The free continental breakfast was ok, but would benefit from adding more fruit choices (only apples were available) and perhaps some yogurt. They did provide breads, pastries, waffle station, link sausage, dry cereal and juices.

All-in-all good value for the price, but I would not want to spend more than a night or two at this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

When we pulled up to this older hotel in Salem, we were a bit skeptical but...we knew it was a low price hotel and we were taking our chances. Surprisingly, the room we had was in very good condition and has been well-maintained over the years. No worn out carpeting or floors. Bathroom and tub was clean. Overall a very pleasant experience for an overnight stay in Salem. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose upper floors but keep in mind that there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We reserved a non-smoking room - the only issue was that it was obviously a smoking room for years and no matter how much you shampoo the rugs, until the rugs and furniture are replaced and the walls get a few coats of paint onto them - the musty smell will continue to pervade the room. And the chair that came with the table - I do not even want to know what the stains were on the chair - I would not place anything on the chair while we were there.

Room Tip: You either get to overlook the Goodwill store on one side of the hotel or the fast food drive throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I paid less than $70 a night, got a king size bed, non smoking, wifi, refrigerator. The bath room was clean and the room appeared recently renovated. Very pleasant for the amount I paid. I had a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: This was the closest hotel to Longwood Park, for the early morning Salem Distance run. Just spent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

stayed there during a family reunion. price were really affordable.we had fabulous time .I enjoy my stay it was nice place and safe area. Breakfast was hot and had many option . staff was very friendly and very helpful . located in good area many place to eat in walking distance .Room were clean and quite. I would recommend my family and friends to go there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My parents are in their 80s and were part of the massive power outage in Virginia during early July. Like may others, they had no power, no A/C and food thawing.

I reserved a room for three days at the Days Inn in Salem, VA as a matter of survival. Fortunately, the inn staff assured me that there were 30 rooms available.

They stayed one night and found out that the power was restored, so they went to check out.

The hotel informed them that the reservation was through Hotels.com, and that the terms were "no refund" - even though they had 30 rooms available.

Hotels.com worked over the course of 10 days to communicate with the manager. Ultimately, the manager said that none of the cost would be refunded.

A potentially life-saving experience was ruined by the greedy grubbing ways of the Manager of Days Inn of Salem. I have no understanding of why they took this step, but that's the purpose of TripAdisor - to shine the light of day on those who rip off the elderly and helpless. Days Inn of Salem, VA did this - please consider the morals of the management when deciding whether to use them.

Room Tip: Stay away from Days Inn of Salem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Salem

Address: 1535 East Main Street, Salem, VA 24153 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.