We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   179 Sheraton Dr., Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 14 hotels in Salem
bucks county, pa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2007

The facilities have seen better days but the rooms were clean. The staff was friendly. The free breakfast was quite nice the first two days we stayed. The second two days there appeared to be a large group that pretty basically wiped out the breakfast. The hotel did seem prepared for that many people. The air handler fan in both rooms was extraordinary loud on fan only which actually drowned out the noise of the large group that was there on our second stay. Overall the experience was positive and Salem was a very nice small town.

  • Liked — The breakfast.
  • Disliked — shabby feel of the facilities.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    9
    21
    22
See reviews for
20
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed here on a roadtrip, after seeing it from the highway. Accomodations are fine, but there was a water main break in the morning so there was no running water (i.e. no toilet or shower.) I thought the management could have done more to either make alternate arrangements or offer to comp the room.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

I should have know better than to think a $65 night hotel would be acceptable. Our first room was right next to the back door (which was broken so we did not feel very secure), and spurted disgusting brown water from both the facet and tub. Our second room also came with brown water, but had the added advantage of a bathtub full of dirty water. Needless to say, we did not stay here.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

I stayed at the Quality Inn, Salem in April 2007. I was visiting a friend at nearby Roanoke College. This hotel is in an excellent location, right off of I-81. The hotel looked a bit rundown when looking at the porches and balconies. My room was really nice and had a very comfortable king size bed. The only complaint I have is in the bathroom. It is very tight. The door hits against the toilet everytime it is opened. There is not much room to dry hair or to really walk around and get ready in the bathroom. I also had a problem with not getting hot water when I showered in the morning. But, when I showered later in the day, I had ample amounts of hot water. Overall, this was a nice hotel. I didn't spend much time in it, but it was a nice place to sleep. They also have wireless internet, which was a great added bonus to my room. I would stay here again,

  • Liked — Wireless internet, location, only having two floors
  • Disliked — the small bathroom, some trouble at check in and check out
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

I was in the Roanoke/Salem area for a major volleyball tournament with my daughter. This hotel was very convenient to our different playing sites and just off I81. The room was large and clean. The bathroom door had to be closed in order to use the toilet. There was virtually no hot water when I took a shower. (I was on the 2nd floor.) I had to let the water run and run, to barely get warm. As I was rinsing my hair, the water turned ice cold again. I had to let it run again before it warmed up enough for me to finish. Didn't make it to the continental breakfast. The room heater generated nice warm air and wasn't as noisy as a lot of hotels I've stayed in, for which I was very grateful. TV offered lots of cable channels as choices including HBO. Great price at less than $60 before taxes! Despite the cold water, I'd stay here again.......maybe in warmer weather though! :-)

  • Liked — Price and proximity to I81
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

If you have allergies, STAY AWAY. The rooms are moldy and need a lot more cleaning. If you stay, I would advise picking up some DAMP RID. We used it in the room plus Lysol in order to endure the room. Our rate was $89 a night, I would not recommend paying that rate, maybe $59, then I wouldn't complain as much.

We had to stay a week due to a Softball Tournament where we had team reservations. We tried to get a room elsewhere, but all Hotels within a 20 mile radious were booked.
There was hair on the bathroom floors and the tub was moldy. We requested to have the bathroom cleaned again upon arrival. A housekeeper came in, swiped some bleach on the floor and left.
The AC was not working correctly so the room was ver humid. We requested to have it checked, but the maintance guy had called in sick....they never came to fix it. It's a good thing we spent most of our time elsewhere.
Smoking and Non-smoking rooms side by side.

Compliments: The staff always asked it there was anything they could do, but it seldom got done. The Wireless Internet access was working. There is an outside pool, but watch out for the gates. Didn't use the fitness room (2 treadmills). Washer was broken. The continental Breakfast area was pleasant. For a free breakfast, you get your money's worth. Sunday special sausage gravy and biscuits. Most other days donuts, french toast, cereal, juices, coffee and milk. There is a nice waffle maker where you can make your own waffle. The attendant made sure to refill all items and wipe down the counters.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

The hotel has seen better days. Would-be travelers to the Quality Inn at Salem should know that if there is a problem, don't expect results... quick or otherwise. The manager lives in another state and only visits the hotel on Mondays. We have had a billing problem that has not been rectified for three months. We have made numerous phone calls all with the promise that he willl call just as soon as he gets the message, but to date, no phone calls. This is time consuming and very frustrating. It is not worth the hassle... avoid visiting and avoid the headache... there are nicer places to stay with greater customer service.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Also Known As:
Salem Quality Inn
Quality Inn Salem
Address: 179 Sheraton Dr., Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.