We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   179 Sheraton Dr., Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    38
    37
    24
    19
See reviews for
78
38
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Summerside, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really loved and enjoyed our stay here. We had our dog and loved they accept dogs. Room was large and very nice. The bed was so comfortable. Front desk very nice and helpful. I rate this property as a 4 star. Plus the view was beautiful. We liked it so much when we stayed there in Nov 2014 enroute to Florida; returned there in April 2015 upon our return home. Thank you and continue with your wonderful accommodations.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

All employees very friendly and bed was very comfortable, breakfast was not bad but shower water was either freezing or scolding no warm and it fluctuated mid stream.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thanks for the compliment about our staff and the property. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Possible my worst hotel experience in 10 years. Rooms were dirty, and poorly maintained. We only got 2 towels and they were small. Breakfast (included) was worth the price. It's at least an hour away from VT but they still charged an outrageous rate of nearly $250/night. I would not expect more than $70/night given the quality of service and maintenance. Don't stay here unless the doghouse is taken.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We saw the hotel advertised in the magazine that is handed out at travel sops on the interstate. We were not familiar with the brand and thought it might be a little upscale based on the brand name. We were wrong. The hotel has been converted from a Sheraton hotel of decades past. It has slider doors that move with great difficulty to close and have a hook to secure them. The hotel is relatively close to I-81 and the noise of trucks could be heard a lot. The room has new wall covering and the like but the bones of the rooms are just old.

The desk person (Mike) was very helpful on close by restaurants and recommended a great one (Billy's Barn). See the separate review of that restaurant.

The value of the room ($59.99) was OK for what we got. There was just an average hot breakfast of waffles, biscuits and gravy and some really nice scrambled eggs. Nothing special.

Room Tip: Try another hotel nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate all our guest's opinions and feedback as it helps us to continue to improve. This is an old building however everything in it is new including furniture, beds, flooring, walls and the exterior and landscaping. We are not done with all our improvements and have many other plans in the near future so please try us again to see for yourself. When we bought the hotel, the sliding doors were a big concern as most were broken however we were fortunate to be able to repair most of them beautifully and we added all new locks so they are completely safe. Guests do love the added convenience of having private balcony and patios. We are glad you enjoyed the scrambled eggs and we try very hard to serve breakfast with flavor. Our prices will remain reasonable no matter how upscale we become so you can count on us to deliver a clean comfortable room at decent price always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area

Address: 179 Sheraton Dr., Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMPLETELY RENOVATED inside & out 120 room Hotel. Located directly off I-81. Nearby Salem Civic Center and Moyer's Sports Complex. Many restaurants and shopping within 1 mile. Beautiful mountain views and hiking on the Appalachian Trail. Features amenities such as seasonal adult & kiddie pool, free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items, WIFI, business center, fitness center, laundry room, banquet & meeting facilities. All rooms accessible from interior corridors. Expansive outdoor areas with Gazebos. All newly decorated rooms have coffeemakers, hairdryers, digital safes, irons, ironing boards and new flat screen televisions. Fridges & microwaves available upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Quality Inn
Quality Inn Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.