We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   179 Sheraton Dr., Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Elkview
2 reviews
“My stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The bathroom sink was stopped up and we had to be moved to another room. This was a little difficult with two little kids at 10:30pm.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    34
    33
    16
    18
See reviews for
67
36
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This old place badly needs repairs and updates. The lobby has been updated and looks OK. The rooms have not been updated. Floors and walls are in terrible shape. Lighting is very dim. Ceiling finish and paint in bathroom was falling down due to water damage. Rate was cheap - and you definitely get what you pay for. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Smoky Mountains, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was not very clean. Got stained towels from housekeeping & no other service was done to the room. We stayed 2 nights 3 days. The hotel also has had a faint smell of ciggerate smoke even though we were told it was a non smoking facility. Also woke up to no hot water on our last day there. We were there for a soccer tournament & many of our other parties complained to the front desk & as far as I'm concerned some discount should have been offered but to us I know it was not. I will never ever stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area, responded to this review, yesterday
I'm sorry to hear your stay was less than perfect. I can understand your being upset to find stains on the towels. That shouldn't have happened and we've gone through all linen and discarded anything that doesn't look brand new. When we bought the hotel 6 months ago there was a smoking wing and we decided to make the hotel nonsmoking. We are sure all remaining smoke odor will be gone. If you would like to call the hotel to discuss in detail, a manager will be happy to help. We always try to resolve any issues with our guests before they leave because we want everyone happy. Sunday morning there was a brief period when probably everyone showering at same time so it took several minutes to get hot. We know you had a choice whether to stay with us or not and we are very appreciative of you and your team for choosing us. That's why we didn't mention the damage done to the hospitality room which we let the team use and it's also why we didn't bother you when guests called to complain about the noise level from children all night. Again we apologize and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel room was clean, but needed updating, lamp shade was ripped, bathroom mirror was chipped. And the room smelled like smoke. They did warn it might but it was the only room they had left and all the other hotels in the area were booked. We needed a place to stay on a road trip from Florida to PA.

However, the staff was friendly and for the price it was good.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Back in the day....when this was a Sheraton....I bet this place was the bomb. Now it's old and falling apart. Hallways smelled like smoke and not even sure if they use the 2nd floor of this hotel? Several hotels in the area.....cars filling the parking lotS....this place 5 cars and spaces for 60 or more!

Staff was very polite and certainly work hard to make you feel welcome. Not sure I will return.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Since I am a senior citizen, the only complaint I had with this hotel was I asked for a room as close to the lobby as possible so I did not have very far to walk. I was put into a room that was a great distance away. Other than that, my stay was excellent. Best sleeping bed I have ever had away from home.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area

Address: 179 Sheraton Dr., Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMPLETELY RENOVATED inside & out 120 room Hotel. Located directly off I-81. Nearby Salem Civic Center and Moyer's Sports Complex. Many restaurants and shopping within 1 mile. Beautiful mountain views and hiking on the Appalachian Trail. Features amenities such as seasonal adult & kiddie pool, free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items, WIFI, business center, fitness center, laundry room, banquet & meeting facilities. All rooms accessible from interior corridors. Expansive outdoor areas with Gazebos. All newly decorated rooms have coffeemakers, hairdryers, digital safes, irons, ironing boards and new flat screen televisions. Fridges & microwaves available upon request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Quality Inn
Quality Inn Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.