We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Salem Roanoke Area

Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Salem Roanoke Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn Salem Roanoke Area
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   179 Sheraton Dr., Salem, VA 24153 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 hotels in Salem
Savannah, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was probably one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. I was first given a non-smoking room, which was not what I reserved, so had to go back to the desk which was a long walk due to really strange configuration in my opinion. Then when I got to the second room, there was no remote for the TV. Called the front desk, and was told I would, I needed to come back to lobby, and get a remote, another long walk. The remote I was given was a universal one, so I had to spend 10 or 15 minutes, getting it to work the TV in my room. A hotel guest should not have to do this, and I'm sure a lot of people wouldn't know how to do. On the night stand was a clock radio from the 70's, that wasn't even plugged in, because there was no outlet to plug it into. The bathroom toilet wasn't clean at all, and to me that's a big issue. The breakfast bar had limited items to choose from, waffle maker didn't work, and overall wasn't the least bit appealing.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. If your traveling north on I 81, stop at the Sleep Inn & Suites in Dubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    9
    22
    22
See reviews for
20
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Oh, what I could do to improve this motel! Lots of money and time might be a good start. Tearing it down and starting over by someone who cares about accommodations is my suggestion. It is absolutely filthy and uncared for. Breakfast is a joke. Natasha , clerk on duty, rescued it by searching for forks and spoons. Wallpaper was peeling off room walls. A "worker" was attempting to piece wooden walls together and looked unfamiliar with tools. Location was lacking. Is in the middle of nowhere which made availability to food difficult. A delapidated mess is my only description.

Room Tip: Check it out before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had to change rooms because the first room was dirty and dingy and in the very back of the motel among the smoking rooms. The second room was only slightly better, but at least we felt a little safer. The tv reception was terrible, the breakfast was very limited. We travel north to south and back every year, and this was the worst experience we have had in a hotel. We will not stay there again.

Room Tip: There are other hotels in the area, go to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel was half-way between our departure and destination on a road trip. Booked online after reading several reviews. Hotel is easily accessed off of I81, the staff is very helpful, and rooms are clean and comfortable. There were not many residents and there were no noise issues.
Hotel is dated and needs some upgrading (wallpaper needs work, show curtain installation is sub-par, and there are not enough electrical outlets). A detraction for me was the lack of shower water pressure and the fact that the hot/cold balance was never consistent. The clerk told us, on arrival, that the breakfast would offer eggs, waffles, either sausage or bacon. When we arrived for breakfast, there were waffles, bread, and some cereals offered, as well as some gravy thing. There were no eggs, sausage, nor bacon. Also, there was no fresh fruit. The coffee was very good. So, we had to breakfast somewhere else.
Would I stay there again, probably not since there are other hotels within a half-mile from this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Bathroom, hole behind toilet. No exhaust fan and coffee pot had old coffee with mold in filter area. No tissues. Breakfast, the biscuits were cold, along with the sausage and gravy. The girl that set up breakfast was the same individual that checked us in. I had to toss breakfast and eat something else.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I checked in with my BF on a Saturday afternoon and very shortly after we got a call that my BF's mother had been in a car accident and we had to leave suddenly. The young man at the front desk was so incredibly helpful and understanding. He gave me a phone number to call to try to get a refund on Monday, when I checked my bank statement on Monday they had already given me the refund. So incredibly thoughtful, I just want to say thank you.

I didn't have a chance to see the rooms so I can't comment, the front lobby was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I can only say this is the most poorly maintained hotel I have ever seen. Our first clue was seeing the front portico where the fascia was missing and the lobby
door which would not close.While the staff was friendly, the buildings are in deplorable shape. The bed was clean and comfy but the fridge froze everything we put into it, the towel bar and the shower controls came off in our hands,there was no hair dryer and the general condition was just awful with dirty carpet and patched walls. I would hate to be a Quality Inn owner with a nice hotel and know this place was considered a sister property. There is evidently no inspection system or minimum standard a hotel needs to meet so after this experience we are much less likely to stay in one of the hotels in this chain.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knights Inn Salem Roanoke Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Salem Roanoke Area

Address: 179 Sheraton Dr., Salem, VA 24153 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Salem Roanoke Area 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Knights Inn Salem Roanoke Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Quality Inn
Quality Inn Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Salem Roanoke Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.