We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dixie Caverns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie Caverns

Dixie Caverns
5753 West Main Street, Salem, VA 24153
540-380-2085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Salem
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tours through these caverns that highlight a large number of still-growing stalagmites and stalactites.
Colonia, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dixie Caverns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fun and interesting place to see. We did have to walk up 342 steps, but we all made it! The temperature is a constant 57 degrees, but you are never really cold!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The caverns were interesting and well worth the 12.00 admission charge. Our guide did pay very close attention to safety but wasn't very knowlegable regarding the caverns otherwise and was not able to answer most questions. Still if you enjoy going into mountain caverns this is a nice way to kill about 45 minutes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“surprisingly interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Weren't sure what to expect--but definitely enjoyed our trip through the caverns--our tour guide
Preston was informative and personable. We would recommend
this tour to families with children for sure!



Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I've been to my fair share of caverns and while this is not the biggest or even the most impressive, it made for a nice stop to break up my long trek down I-81. I took my 2 and 3 year old boys and had to carry the 2 yo over the 300+ stairs. They enjoyed the sights even though they couldn't really understand the rehearsed, but moderately funny tour guide. And they expelled some much needed energy. There are better caverns in the area, but I chose this one because I was just looking for a break from the road trip not an afternoon of activity, so it totally fit the bill.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“It was amazing and beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Our tour guide Preston was super and the information and stories were very interesting. The cave is cold but bearable in shorts and tank tops. We recommend wearing good shoes and go to the bathroom before the tour. Took some great pictures, made some great memories.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dixie Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixie Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.