We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Carmel Church/Kings Dominion to your Saves list
Days Inn Carmel Church/Kings Dominion
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24320 Roger Clark Blvd., PO Box 70, Ruther Glen, VA 22546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ruther Glen
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    49
    46
    44
See reviews for
87
33
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norton Shores, Michigan, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had reserved the Days Inn at the entrance of KD and drove 14 hours to discover they had sold our room cuz we weren't there earlier. When I called Day's Inn customer service they said they had another Days Inn nearby that had a vacancy, we were exhausted the kids were crabby so we agreed to go to this motel. We drove up and it didn't LOOK terribly awful from the exterior (in the dark). The room was so tiny, and dark and the floors were filthy! My shoes literally stuck to the carpet and the bathroom was so unbelievably disgusting and tiny as well. U had to straddle the toilet in order to shut the door. The light took 10-15 seconds of flickering in order to turn on, the bath tub was disgusting, the floor had pubic hairs and dirt, when we tried to move the "table" it was so wobbly that the legs almost fell off and we could not set anything on it. The housekeeping staff was so unbelievably nice and helpful, and the ladies at the front desk were very nice.

Room Tip: ask to see ur room before u check into ANY hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbinger, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I and our two kids just stayed at this Days Inn this past weekend for a trip to Kings Dominion. It does appear to be an older motel and needs some attention to maintenance, however, unlike some previous reviewers posted, we found that the carpet and bedspreads were clean and not sticky, nor was the water brown. The beds were comfortable and the a/c worked well. The staff was courteous and friendly and the breakfast was adequate. We have stayed in nicer motels, but for the price, this one was fine and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Now that I see some of the reviews I may have rethought my visit here. The rooms were standard and nothing special. They had a clean appearance and we were ok there. The pool was good for the kids. The outside floors on the second floor had a peculiar slope to them and were in need of new covering. The included breakfast was presented as a voucher to the restaurant. We walked in and were greeted with a line of people waiting for the one person working the kitchen to prepare the pancakes or scoop up your eggs and bacon. She also had to give you your juice. A good cup of coffee starts the day off right...needless to say that with a package of powdered creamer my day didn't start well. The killer was when we came out of our room after packing up to go and being met with a nice pile of maggotts...I'm not sure if someone moved the trashcan and they were under it or what happened but it wasn't pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

On a recent trip North, we needed a place to stop for the night. We decided to take advantage of a coupon in a book picked up at the Welcome Center as it was late and we would be checking out early. The room was tired and not very clean, but it wasn't filthy and the bed was okay (always do a bed bug check). At 11 p.m. we heard water and it wasn't raining. Water was pouring through the bathroom fan and into the light fixture from the room above (evidently the toilet blew the valve - not blaming management for this). I called the front desk who said they would send maintenance upstairs (no instructions to vacate the room, not touch the electric etc). Ten minutes later there was a knock on the door and the occupants of the room above came down looking for maintenance. Twenty minutes later as water continued to fill the light and pour in, I went to the front desk to change rooms. (Should have changed motels). By midnight we were once again settled in another dingy room. Asked for some compensation for the experience when we checked out, so after much fiddling with the computer fifteen minutes later she had upped the room price 10% and then given us a 10% discount. I decided I would rather deal with Wyndham Hotels on this then spend more valuable time with the Clerk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our group was in 2 rooms- we both had to switch rooms due to filth/door not working! Front desk staff was very nice and gave us new rooms. Beds were okay but overall cleanliness was very suspect. There was no other rooms around so we stayed reluctantly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Carmel Church/Kings Dominion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Carmel Church/Kings Dominion

Address: 24320 Roger Clark Blvd., PO Box 70, Ruther Glen, VA 22546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Ruther Glen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ruther Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Carmel Church/Kings Dominion 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Carmel Church/Kings Dominion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Carmel Church/Kings Dominion Hotel Ruther Glen
Ruther Glen Days Inn
Days Inn Ruther Glen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Carmel Church/Kings Dominion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.