We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   395 Old Franklin Tpke, Rocky Mount, VA 24151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Rocky Mount
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express May 3rd, 2013. This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn. We were down to see my brother graduate from Ferrum College, about 15 minutes away from this hotel. We had no peoblems with parking and it was free. The hotel staff was happy, pleasant, and helpful our whole trip. Our room was clean and our bed was super comfy. The hotel in general was quiet and peaceful. There are plenty of shops and a few food places to eat within walking distance, or a short drive. All in all we had a great stay, If I was ever going through that way again I would most def. be stopping here again. Thank You for the awesome stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I don’t know what to say but thank you for the wonderful words about our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and staff and are strive to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one and I can see we met all those goals with you.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to others that are visiting the Rocky Mount area. I hope to see you again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
10
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times while at Smith Mountain Lake. Very easy to get to and close to 220 and great prices (king bed non smoking $100). Rooms have always been clean and beds comfortable. Close to a few places to eat, has an indoor pool that was nice. Breakfast in the morning has many choices. Will be staying again this summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the great comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Rocky Mount/Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia. As an experienced traveler, you understand how important a clean, comfortable room and friendly staff are. We take great pride in our hotel and are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and that we met your expectations.

I hope you enjoyed you enjoyed your time at Smith Mountain Lake and we will see you this summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrum
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed one night during a recent power outage at our nearby home. Staff was friendly, room was VERY spacious, CLEAN and LARGE bathroom, 32" LCD tv, microwave, fridge and wet bar in room. COMFY beds/pillows - even the sleeper sofa slept comfortably. Stayed in one of the "big rooms" that has two queens and a sleeper sofa - plenty of room for our family of 6. Air conditioning and heat worked great. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and breakfast matron was continually putting out fresh food and cleaning counters. Hotel is right in the heart of EVERYTHING - Kroger grocery store, Walmart, Auto Zone, CVS pharmacy, Bojangle's, Quizno's, Cook Out, Applebee's, and more are all w/in feet!! THIS is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Traveling with more than two children? Opt for one of the "big rooms" - sleeps 6 comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Express Hotel & Suites in Rocky Mount, Virginia.

We take pride in our hotel, and I can see we met your needs. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room with friendly service. I am glad that you enjoyed your room, and yes, we are located in a convenient location for our guests to access shopping and dining options.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for the recommendation to other travelers. We look forward to seeing you next time if you are the Rocky Mount area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a very nice room with 2 queen beds, sofa, micro/fridge, coffemaker. It could not have been any nicer. The staff was great, the room spacious and clean, the pool sparkling! The breakfast had more options that most breakfast bars, and was well stocked by a friendly employee. We really enjoyed the pool. The location was convenient to restaurants, stores and the conference we were attending. I highly recommend this hotel. To handicapped travelers: this is the FIRST HOTEL I've stayed at that had transfer chairs to enable handicapped people to enter the pool and the whirlpool. As someone who was wheelchair bound for 2 + years, I give KUDOS to Holiday Inn Express for providing this!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor, not far from the elevator and facing the street. Noise was never an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Rocky Mount, VA. We take great pride in our hotel and are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and that we met your expectations.

The Holiday Inn Express breakfast program gives everyone many options to choose from. You can enjoy the hot breakfast which includes the signature cinnamon roll by Holiday Inn Express and pancakes.

I am so glad that you were able to enjoy the pool and the hot tub with the transfer seat.

Again, thank you for your comments and recommendations to others; and I hope you will consider us again for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was a very nice newer hotel with easy access to highway 220 and the normal range of strip mall services. The room was comfortable with a large flat screen TV. We were in a $100/night room, Queen non smoking, with a pretty decent breakfast in the morning with a variety of options. However, there was no refrigerator in our room and the coffee maker was one of those flimsy teeny tiny affairs that you can only use their mesh coffee bags.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Rocky Mount, Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff.

Our standard king and queen double rooms do not have refrigerators and microwaves. I am truly sorry about that. We do offer refrigerator and microwaves in our executive rooms and suites. Finally, regarding the coffee maker. We chose to switch from the four cup coffee maker to the one cup coffee maker because of health issues with cleaning the glass carafe. Switching to the one coffee maker is a more sanitized method of our in-room coffee service. On the most part we get very positive comments regarding our one cup coffee maker.

I would like to thank you for your most recent stay and I do hope you will consider using our Holiday Inn Express in Rocky Mount, Virginia if your lodging needs takes you this direction in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have stayed here twice, the location has been great for my travels. Both times I have noticed there is a stale/ musky odor at this property (cigerate smoke?) Once you get into a non smoking room, the odor is less noticable. I have found both rooms larger than most HIE, and the HVAC has worked well. The front desk staff during my first visit was very friendly, the second visit they were a bit sirly. Breakfast was the standard HIE, nothing noteable. There is an Apple Bees accross the highway, other resturants nearby. The price paid was better than average

Room Tip: The back side of the property not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for the taking the time to let us know about your most current experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Rocky Mount, Virginia. Our goal is to meet your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff. I can see that we did not meet the friendly staff on your second visit. We are working on our customer service and do not want that to do be an issue for future travelers.

Regarding the stale musty order that you noticed on both visits. We are investigating that issue, we have not received any other comments from our guests on that matter. However we are working on the possibility of converting the hotel to 100% smoke free hotel. If we decide to go smoke free we will start the process by the end of 2012.

Again I would like to thank you for your comments and I do hope you will continue to use the Holiday Inn Express in Rocky Mount, Virginia for your lodging needs if in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

lovely, clean, friendly---would make this a 'must' stop if we go this way again. breakfast was fantastic, quite a variety of foods to choose from, a good nights sleep, terrific value for the money, again could not find anything wrong with this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in Rocky Mount, Virginia.

We take pride in our hotel and I can see we met your needs from a clean comfortable room to friendly staff.

The Holiday Inn Express breakfast program gives everyone many options to choose from. You can enjoy the hot breakfast which includes the signature cinnamon roll by Holiday Inn Express. Just in case you may not realize it but if you go to any other Holiday Inn Express you will experience the same breakfast.

Again thank you for your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Rocky Mount, Virginia and hope to you see again in the future if your lodging needs takes you through Rocky Mount, Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake

Address: 395 Old Franklin Tpke, Rocky Mount, VA 24151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beautiful new Rocky Mount Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off US 220 and Route 40. A 20 minute scenic drive will take you to the beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We are located minutes from MW Windows, Carilion Franklin Memorial Hospital, and other area businesses. A short 30 minute drive down 220S will lead you to Martinsville and for the race fans the Martinsville Speedway. A 20 minute drive on 220N will lead you to Roanoke Virginia. Ferrum College is about 10 minutes away making us a perfect place to stay for a parents weekend or a visit to the college. Offering both standard rooms with a king or 2 queen beds and suites we are sure to have a room to please every traveler All rooms have hairdryers, iron/board, coffee makers, speakerphones w/voice mail and free high speed Internet access. Relax and unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool or exercise room featuring Nautilus equipment. We take pride in our guest service and quality. When staying in Rocky Mount Virginia, stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
Holiday Inn Rocky Mount
Rocky Mount Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.