We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Great Food, Area Knowledge - All-in-One!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Mount
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
185 Claiborne Ave, Rocky Mount, VA 24151   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rocky Mount B&B and Inns
Shinnston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfort, Great Food, Area Knowledge - All-in-One!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

This was my escape from home! I had a couple days to myself and wanted to make the most of them. I could not have chosen a better place to go! The Claiborne House is beautiful, CLEAN, quiet, and every possible comfort a normal person sould want is there. The bed was comfortable, linens lovely, lighting for reading, and chairs to sit in - and this was just the guestroom! The bathroom was excellent - clean with nice towels and amenities.

Breakfast was wonderful - fresh fruit, juice, omelet, potatoes, tea biscuits, and wonderful coffee one morning and pancakes, scrambled eggs, and bacon as the entree with the fresh fruit, juice, and marvelous coffee the next. Lovely presentation and they do not stint on the portions.

The Red Clay is the restaurant just a block from the B & B with food that is excellent and the prices were much lower than I expected for food that good. My crab cake dinner (2 crab cakes) and 2 sides was $16! Thank you, Shellie for recommending this restaurant!

As far as what to see or do? This innkeeper KNOWS the area and whatever your interests, she has suggestions and routings. The D-Day Memorial in Bedford is a must see. There are so many activities and parks in Rocky Mount - music - that I want to go back "in season".

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner-Innkeeper-Chief Bottle Washer at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
Thank you so much! A review from a fellow innkeeper means a lot to me. We thoroughly enjoyed our special guests. God bless, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
58
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HinghamVirginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Wonderful place to stay. Cozy! Quaint little town and restaurants all within a short walk. Breakfast was wonderful! Great coffee!!!! We will be back!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner-Innkeeper-Chief Bottle Washer at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2009
Thanks so much, a wonderful family indeed! Life is too short for bad coffee...

God bless,
Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We have been staying at Claiborne House for the past 3 years when we travel to Ferrum College where our daughter is a Junior. We have stayed in 3 different rooms and just last weekend stayed in the Washroom when we came up for Parent's Weekend at Ferrum College. We loved it so much we will always book it when available! Shellie and Tony are great and they even make sure there is Coke in the 'frig in the dining room for me.....usually the lone non-coffee drinker at breakfast. We feel right at home at Claiborne House and would never consider staying anywhere else!
Dana Smith
Fredericksburg, VA

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner-Innkeeper-Chief Bottle Washer at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
Thank you so much! We love catching up and seeing your family on each visit. You are always so positive and full of life, every breakfast table with different guests is always filled with laughter and good times with The Smiths present!

God bless, Shellie

(PS we didn't really stick you in the washroom though, it was the Wash House Cottage, the washroom is all mine...never ending laundry. Oh and it was a kodak moment last night as we had three couples from NC on motorcycles come in from the heat and stand and gulp down ice cold coke!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I found this B&B while searching online. My husband and I wanted to do something simple to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Shellie set us up with one of the romance packages offered through the inn. Upon arrival Shellie made us feel right at home. Our room of choice was the Wash House Cottage and the pictures do not do it justice!!! We were greeted with sparkling cider chilling under the mantel and a vase with 12 of the most gorgeous roses in a color I had never seen. We requested breakfast delivered to the cottage on our first morning and ate in the dining room the next. Absolutely scrumptious both times!!! There were so many wonderful things about this place it is hard to put into words. We will definately be back! A HUGE thanks to Tony and Shellie for their warm hospitality!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner-Innkeeper-Chief Bottle Washer at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2009
Many very happy returns to you! God bless, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We sayed for 3 nights at the BB and it was our Anniversary weekend. We were greeted with warm and welcoming arms. I had flowers and chocolates in the room for when we arrived and the flowers selected were wonderful and my wife enjoyed them very much. Our room was nice and clean and cool when we arrived from a long trip on the road. We had a peaceful nights sleep in a great comfy king bed. We awoke to a wonderful breakfast each day. We had eggs, and suasage and bacon and blueberry pancakes and homemade breakfast sandwitches and every morning there was some kind of fresh fruit that was a tastey treat before breakfast. We had a nice card one morning for our anniversary wishing us well and then another day since it was fathers day I had a card at the breakfast table waiting for me. Thes hosts were always warm and kind hearted and great to talk too. We enjoyed at night siting out on the porch and just enjoying the peace and quite. The gardens and the fish pond in the back were nice as well. We had a such a great time and would definately come back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner-Innkeeper-Chief Bottle Washer at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 19, 2009
SUPER GUESTS MAKE US HAPPY INNKEEPERS!

Thank you for the kind words, we love our guests they rock!

God bless the three of you!
Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I took my mom to the Clairborne house for her birthday and we had a very special time together. Upon arriving, we found a special birthday card for mom and complimentary chocolates. A beautiful strawberry cake was in the dining room. She felt honored. The room was clean and the family was helpful. During breakfast we were blessed with special live violin music honoring my mom's birthday :)
Thanks so much for the special memory.
Sincerely, Deb

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Onwer-Innkeeper-Chief Bottle Washer-Mother of the Fiddlers at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2009
Thank you for the nice review. You were lovely guests. We thoroughly enjoyed you both, you have a great Mom and YOU are a great daughter. Coincidentally my sister and nieces are here from your neck of the woods as I type this bragging about Dungeness crab. God bless, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We spent three nights at the Claiborne House and it was an excellent choice. We used it as our vacation base and its location put us in easy reach of everything we wanted to see. We sat next to their pond and watched the goldfish, read in the evenings sitting on the porch, and relaxed in the sitting parlor. Our room was clean and comfortable. We could see the garden from our room's window. The three unique breakfasts we were served were marvelous.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Onwer-Innkeeper-Chief Bottle Washer at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2009
You guys rock! Tony is so pleased when guests relax by the ponds, I cannot tell you thanks enough. Your family history conversation is melded into my guest memory bank. Did I forget to mention that? Innkeepers collect guest memories and stories (like the books you enjoy) it is fun for us to recall all the fantastic guests we have had! God bless, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 185 Claiborne Ave, Rocky Mount, VA 24151
Location: United States > Virginia > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the start of The Crooked Road Music Trail! Centrally located btwn Roanoke/Blue Ridge Parkway and Smith Mountain Lake. Enjoy your morning cup from the l30-foot porch with views of The Blue Ridge. Walk to the Harvester Perfomance Center in downtown Rocky Mount! Tap yer toes in Blue Ridge Country Virginia! Private baths, Central HVAC, Cable TV and WIFI in all of our guest rooms! Let us cook you breakfast here at The Claiborne House B&B ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claiborne House Bed And Breakfast Rocky Mount, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.