We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Mount
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
185 Claiborne Ave, Rocky Mount, VA 24151   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rocky Mount B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband had arranged a surprise weekend for me and this is the place he picked for us to stay. Great job with the planning!!!! Claiborne House is tucked away in a tiny town with lovely views. The weather was perfect for morning porch sitting where I could ogle the scenery while sipping coffee before breakfast -- always scrumptious and well-prepared! All I could hear were the leaves rustling, the wind gently blowing and the birds singing. One morning I strolled through the beautiful cemetery just behind the B and B; taking in the scenery from up on the hill and enjoying the peacefulness of the place.

Claiborne House is a perfect spot for day trips to the surrounding countryside. We hiked each day and explored Roanoke. The Blue Ridge Parkway is really close by. We slept so peacefully and in great comfort! Plus, it is a pleasure to support a family owned business!

Three cheers for the Leete family!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
"Ogling the scenery while innjoying coffee on the porch" my kind of guests! Please come back and ogle some more when the Spring buds are popping up all over the place...

God bless you both and have a wonderful Thanksgiving!
Shellie & Family, your innkeepers at The Claiborne House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
55
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

From Shellie and Tony Leete's warm welcome, to our cozy, quiet , well equipped room, to the good coffee, the amazing breakfasts, and the chance to meet other very happy guests, we have to say staying at Claiborne House was the highlight of our two week holiday. We were provided with accurate local information (historic, botanic, scholastic, musical, social) that really enriched our experience. We would highly recommend a weekend at Claiborne House to people like us who are visiting Virginia for the first time or for people who want to go slowly and soak up the amazing environment.
Sincerely
John and Darlane Davis Campbell River BC Canada

Room Tip: We loved the Cascade room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
What a treat to meet you both and innjoy your company here at The Claiborne House. You were also a highlight of our October!

God bless, and may the road always bring you on journeys of discovery...Shellie,Tony and Family, your innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We came here for our one-year anniversary and the experience couldn't have been better. The entire place was beautifully kept and tastefully decorated. We stayed two nights and both breakfasts were wonderful, right down to the heart-shaped tomato specifically picked out for our breakfast plates. (That makes a great innkeeper, not a strange one! :) The girls who attended to us for breakfast were very sweet and the innkeepers happily accomodated our vegetarian needs. The porch was so quiet and peaceful, I wished I had another day to do nothing but sit there and read away on the rocking chair! The innkeepers were very friendly and do a terrific job with the house. Thanks for the lovely weekend.

Room Tip: The "Love Shack" was delightful for an anniversary - separate from the main house, you rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Wonderful guests make this more than a business. We are blessed to get to meet so many interesting people, if only for a short while... God bless you Newlyweds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at Claiborne House this past weekend. This was our first B&B experience and we could not have enjoyed it more. Shellie and Tony are welcoming but not hovering. The house is charming and well kept for it's age. Will return in the fall! They use the "Comphy" brand sheets which are heaven sent to someone like me who has difficultly sleeping.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful view of the garden from the Sierra Suite which offers both inside and outside ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for the sweet review, dear sweet guests! We wanted to tell you that from your room you can now see our giant old-age Hickory tree that was hit by lightning a few weeks ago. It still has leaves, so we are hopeful she is going to make it! The bark exploded on every side! It was quite something.

God bless you both, and hope to see you again here at The Claiborne House. The porch awaits you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had just had a bad B&B experience and were not too hopeful about our next stay.
The innkeepers were very friendly, but not overly apparent, so we were left to enjoy their place on our own, which was just what we wanted.
Our bed was super comfortable and the breakfast was very generous and good.
We had some diet restrictions and they owners were very accommodating.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Claiborne House.

Room Tip: Good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
With a full house for Blue Ridge Folk Life Festival we sure had some wonderful guests, yourselves inn-cluded, the porch was alive with laughter!

Thank you for the kind words in this review. The leaves have continued to do their thang...We hope you can visit again sometime, especially in the early Spring when these Blue Ridge Mountains burst to life, it really is something!

God bless our Midwest Guests,
Shellie, Tony & Girls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The porch and the rooms are only part of the pleasure. What stands out is the hospitality of the owners. Following greetings and being shown our rooms home made double chocolate cookies were available and were eaten in the garden with its charming, pond. Inside, too, is a guest living room equipped with entertainments. The rooms are Victoriana at its cosiest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Guests who remember the exact chocolatiness of their cookies are always welcome at The Claiborne House! Coming from Chicago the food mecca I know you know good food. (Unfortunately I do too, you know the saying, "Never trust a skinny cook")

Thank you for staying with us and sharing a bit about your visit with others, this really helps us when inquiries read happy reviews from happy guests.

Y'all come back now ya hear!

God bless,
Shellie & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here a few days ago as part of our honeymoon throughout the eastern States of the USA. We were blown away by the wonderful hospitality from the whole family including Juni the dog who did a great job at keeping the squirrels away! The room was beautifully decorated and it looks like that Shellie and Tony had thought of every little detail to make guests feel comfortable. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the veranda with a drink watching the world go by.

Breakfast was filling and extremely tasty and we also loved the welcome cookies the evening before.

If we are ever in the area again and we hope that we will be, we cant wait to go back.

Relaxing, comfortable in the extreme and great hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaiborneInnkeeper, Owner at Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for the sweet review. Absolutely the pleasure was all ours, having lovely honeymooners from London visit The Claiborne House was a real treat!

God bless you in your journey together...you can hold hands at our table any day.

Shellie and Family (including Junie the dog, assistant innkeeper and chief squirrel chaser )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 185 Claiborne Ave, Rocky Mount, VA 24151
Location: United States > Virginia > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the start of The Crooked Road Music Trail! Centrally located btwn Roanoke/Blue Ridge Parkway and Smith Mountain Lake. Enjoy your morning cup from the l30-foot porch with views of The Blue Ridge. Walk to the Harvester Perfomance Center in downtown Rocky Mount! Tap yer toes in Blue Ridge Country Virginia! Private baths, Central HVAC, Cable TV and WIFI in all of our guest rooms! Let us cook you breakfast here at The Claiborne House B&B ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claiborne House Bed And Breakfast Rocky Mount, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claiborne House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.