We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NASCAR Weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake

Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1730 N Main St., Rocky Mount, VA 24151   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“NASCAR Weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have stayed at this location for 8 years during Martinsville race weekend.Staff are always pleasant and always enjoy stay. Upgrades are being made to this property. Rooms are clean, but are on the list for upgrades. Disappointed they would not make a reservations for next year. Said they do not know the date or room rate for next year. Previous years they were happy to do this for us. If they do not want our business, will look elsewhere for a room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. The reason for not making immediate reservations for our guests of the Martinsville Spring NASCAR race is that the date seems to change each year, and if we make it for the wrong weekend, we just can't be sure that all race reservations get moved to the appropriate weekend. Our goal is to have your room available when you arrive, and not make a mistake and have it reserved for the wrong weekend. Again, we appreciate our customers and just want to do the right thing for each one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The overall on this hotel is good. It is dog friendly. The rooms are huge. The only thing was when I checked in I asked the girl at the counter if I needed to extend my stay was it available and she said no it was sold out. I went back the next morning and another lady there said it was available. My point is, the hotel was empty, the first girl would have cost the hotel business because we stayed for several days after that. They should train their staff a little better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us feedback about your recent stay with us. Our rooms are large and very accommodating for our guests and we feel providing you friendly service and clean rooms is of the utmost importance. Also, training our employees to be knowledgeable and accurate is also very important and a continuing process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melfa, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel looks old and worn, but was under renovation on the exterior and lobby. Parking is rather cramped, and parking for the back of the building looks iffy. It's not a confidence-builder to see a sign warning that hotel is not responsible for theft or vandalism of vehicles. There were a dozen or so people standing around the back lot drinking beer and getting loud.

Inside, the office was not recognizable as a facility that was open for business. The room had been laid bare and nobody was at the construction material-desk. The hall was rank with cigarette smoke and mustiness, and the rear door hanging half open. When we got to our room, we found the door was propped open on its security latch, and we had to go back to the desk and see if someone was already in the room. She stated that housekeeping does that sometimes, leaving rooms unsecured.

Entering the room, the most noticeable thing was stale air overlaid with some sort of perfume or room spray. There were large chunks of dirt tracked across the carpet, which clearly had not been vacuumed. Crushed leaves were scattered across the loveseat, and soil and gouges were on the walls. Something white had dripped down the glass of the bedroom mirror, and the room windows were grungy with dirt. As we unpacked, I found the bathroom had not been stocked with towels, and there was a pubic hair on the toilet seat. Something cream colored and sticky was on the bathroom counter, and the faucet had ingrained brown hand-contact residues in the grooves of the handle. I went back to the desk clerk to get towels, then back to the room again. The desk lamp didn't work, due to a blown bulb. I went back to the desk clerk for the third time to get a light bulb. I turned up the a/c to try and freshen the smell of the room, but it wouldn't operate at more than a minimal level no matter where I put the dial. The window had a makeshift "lock" to prevent it being opened....a piece of half-round wood had been laid in the window track with a screw clamp holding it in place. I removed it and opened the window for some fresh air. As I put our food in the fridge, I saw the top of the fridge and microwave were covered in dust, at least several days worth. There were dried drink-rings from where wet glasses had sat on the fridge top, and the ice-bin tray had dried brown residues all across its surface. There was no phone book in the room, and the binder with area info listed only 4 restaurants in the area (as we left we saw many more than that in the immediate vicinity). The last straw was when I pulled back the sheets and found long curly hairs in the bed, and thin brown hairs on the pillow cases. This place was filthy, and it is appalling that Choice Hotels' inspectors have not stepped in to correct the situation. As I returned to the desk to let the clerk know there was no way I could stay in that room, six teens galloped down the hall, banging on a room door, then ran back to the lobby, then down the other hall. The noise was incredible, but hotel staff just ignored the racket, never offering to suggest perhaps they shouldn't be whooping and running in the building. As I left via the rear hall entrance, I found the inner door wouldn't properly close, and the outer security door seemed to be broken. What a distaster of a hotel.

Note: the desk clerk suggested that if we wanted to come back sometime that management might be willing to give us a free night's stay, but I passed. I'm not going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give such an explicit review of your recent attempted stay with us. As you mentioned, our hotel is going through a renovation and even though things may seem in disarray, there is a plan to complete our work in the public areas soon, and the entire hotel in 2014. We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations, but we pride ourselves in delivering clean rooms and friendly service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband & I had brief business to take care of in Rocky Mount and stayed here one night in August in a king room (smoking). I always pull back hotel room sheets & check the mattress seams for evidence of bedbugs before I go to sleep, and this room/bed checked out fine. The room was fine, the staff were fine. The breakfast looked pretty typical.

The toilet was slow-flushing and then it up & clogged on us at 6:30am. The good news is a very nice man came to our room within minutes to fix it.

The one thing about our room that was strange was the walls. It was like a patterned wallpaper but there were lots - and lots - of stains. Like drinks splashed, droplet-type stains, but all over. I had hoped they were just permanent stains but I took a wet washcloth to them and they wiped right off. The walls were covered in it, though, bathroom & sleeping room. Kind of gross that it wiped right off, the room was otherwise fine but I was really uncomfortable about the walls.

We walked over to Ippy's Steakhouse for dinner, that was very good & it was nice to be able to just walk there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response concerning your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to using your comments to improve our service to our guests. The hotel is going through renovation now and in 2014 we will have updated the entire hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I found everything about this Comfort Inn to be pleasing. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. It is an older property, but well maintained and clean. The location is convenient to US 220. Breakfast is typical for free motel breakfasts, but the coffee was good and both the local paper and the WSJ are available for free in the breakfast area. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again while passing through Roanoke.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. It is our goal to greet every guest that visits our hotel with friendly service. It is equally as important to make sure you have a clean room and your stay is as comfortable as we possibly make it. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here one night in September and got over a dozen bug bites as we slept. I notified the manager, Jerry Robertson, and he promised to have a professional bed bug inspection and to provide a copy of the professional report to me. That was 3 months ago and as yet I have received no report.

We also had to tape cardboard over the bathroom vent to keep out the cigarette smoke from other rooms. The carpeting, upholstery and blankets were all dirty. But the bites were the worst part.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry your experience wasn't satisfactory and that our response to you wasn't immediate. The room was cleared by an inspection just days after your stay. There have been no subsequent issues with the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Parking lots are dark and full of locals yelling in middle of night. Hotel is dated and needs serious work. Stepped of the elevator and the floor boards felt weak and soggy. Rest of floors creaky and old smell in halls and room. Bedding was stained and torn and old. Not enough plug ins for computer or iron. Road traffic has noise and frequent trucks using the diesel breaks. Cost far out weights the problems here at this place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all feedback, and we take very seriously your observations. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with clean guestrooms, a good breakfast, and professional service from our friendly staff. Feel assured that your comments have been shared with staff and have been thoroughly evaluated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake

Address: 1730 N Main St., Rocky Mount, VA 24151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake Hotel Rocky Mount
Comfort Inn Rocky Mount
Rocky Mount Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake Rocky Mount, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.