We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
great room
great room
great room
master bedroom
Gate at private road
Rockbridge Baths
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
my3sons28...
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Beyond our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We just recently returned home from the Mountain Pond House and we are excited to plan our next vacation there. It exceeded our expectations! The house was clean, beautifully decorated, and it was obvious the Paynes take great pride in it. We were pleasantly surprised how well equipped the house was--it was true, you only needed to bring your groceries and yourselves! We traveled with our three young boys who enjoyed fishing in the pond, hiking around the grounds, and taking in all the wildlife around the property. Leading such busy lives at home, it was nice to be secluded and disconnected from the craziness of everyday life. Thank you, Bill and Bonnie--we look forward to seeing you again next summer!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
timcons
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Perfect getaway location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Fantastic experience. Cabin and land was like out of a picture book. Nice porch/deck overlooking the pond with a beautiful view. Cabin was extremely clean and well appointed. Property offered two bonfire locations - one at the top of a hill that was spectacular. The pictures and description of the property are very accurate. You are in a remote location - roughly 16 miles from the nearest grocery/Wal-Mart. Be sure to visit the nearby Goshen Pass which is one of the best swimming holes I've ever experienced.

5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Beautiful remote location with a modern well-kept cabin/home
Liked least: Cabin layout was not optimal for two families
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
PAUL208
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“WOW a fantastic holiday home, you must visit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2011

We stayed at Mountain Pond house as part of our 3 week vacation, the house is located in an outstanding location, facilities are everything you could ask for. William is a exceptional host and was always available to assist, with information on the local area and to have a neighbourly chat.
The hiking trails were a big bonus and allowed us to have a view of a good array of wildlife, my lasting memory of the house will be sitting on the deck as night falls listening to the Frogs.
A great place to relax and unwind, but close enough to Lexington for essentials.
The Rowley's from Hertfordshire, England.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Country location
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LJ
VA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
L J
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“THE place to relax and unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We rented the house for a long weekend and had an amazing time! The house is beautifully finished and extremely comfortable--we were sad to have to leave. We especially enjoyed hiking on the mowed trails, cooking out on the fire pit bbq, and spending our nights looking at stars and listening to the frogs. The owner was very friendly and brought us more firewood when we mentioned we were out. Location was excellent--very close to Lexington.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and scenery
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
smithies3...
leeds,uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A true away from it all experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Excellent base in the virginia mountains, good for exploring blue ridge mountains and lexington. Canoeing in the pond and fishing great. Saw lots of wildlife.Lovely property and very peaceful. Would definately stay there again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RLGCWV
WV
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$185
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
William P
5403484274
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2010
Response Rate: 75 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 27 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing