We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable late night spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Downtown Bar & Grill

Martin's Downtown Bar & Grill
413 1st St SW, Roanoke, VA 24011-1903
540-985-6278
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 415 Restaurants in Roanoke
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
roanoke
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“comfortable late night spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

went to Martin's downtown last night great spot to relax. not overly crowded didn't have to wade through the little kids like some places downtown. love that they serve great food late at night. awesome blue cheese burger. great mac and cheese and live music.definitely will be returning. this place needs to do stand up comedy.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Local burger and beer spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I enjoy Martin's because they do different specials each day if the week and the food is good. They do a different burger of the month and they have a wide variety of other foods. Good beer and liquor selection. Fun bar atmosphere and they do live music quite often.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Burgers and Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A smaller grill and bar feel, everyone is casual and friendly. There is a very wide selection of dishes to choose from--one for every taste to be sure. And several beers on tap, even more in the bottle. We went for Monday half price burger night. There's a great selection of burgers and with the half price deal, it brings them to roughly $5-7 a piece. This includes the flavor of the month burger (currently a turkey burger with stuffing, gravy, and cranberry pesto--very tasty!) as well as veggie and bison burgers. There is live music every few nights, so be sure to check their website if you prefer a quieter environment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good times and a great variety of brews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were here for a music festival that was held outside in the beer garden. However, we did order food from the regular bar menu. Typical bar menu selection, with a few pleasant surprises (ribs!) and very tasty. Excellent variety of beers on tap (I did not count,but there had to be at least a dozen). On the edge of the historic downtown area, but within walking distance of most of the attractions.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Monday = Burger Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went a couple weeks ago on a Monday night and I was looking forward to trying it. I was impressed with the variety and selection in the burger section of the menu. For a place to offer half price burgers every Monday, it’s surprising to see so many on the menu you can choose from. Some of the options include: The Wisconsin Cheeseburger (pepper jack, cheddar, & provolone), Philly Cheeseburger (mushrooms, onions, bell peppers, & provolone), Bistro Burger (havarti, mushrooms, whole grain mustard on an English muffin), and The Pitts-burger (coleslaw, French fries, tomato, & provolone). I ordered The Western – a burger topped with smoked bacon, house BBQ sauce, cheddar, and an onion ring. They also have good variety with their side dishes, but I ordered the traditional staple – French fries.

The presentation of the burger was great. The combination of the onion ring, bacon, and BBQ sauce made for a nice picture with lots of different color. Unfortunately, I wish it had tasted as good as it looked. For as many different flavors as I had on the burger, I was hoping I would be able to taste more of them. The meat seemed to lack seasoning or any sort of grilled flavor and the BBQ sauce was relatively bland. The hamburger bun also didn’t do much for me – it tasted a little stale and could have used a minute in the toaster. I had high hopes as I was seeing people’s orders delivered to the table and even higher when my plate was served, but it just didn’t live up to expectations. However, the size of the burger was great, and for $5.50, it’s a very good deal.

Even though I wasn’t a huge fan of the food for my first experience, I’m definitely willing to give Martin’s Downtown Bar & Grill another chance. I think the Pitts-Burger has good potential and there are a number of other things on the menu that look good besides the burgers. The first visit might have been a let-down, but I’m confident my next meal there will be a better experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin's Downtown Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Martin's Downtown Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Downtown Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.