We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy, just American-style food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shakers Good Food & Drink

Shakers Good Food & Drink
1909 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012
(540) 366-4783
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 377 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, just American-style food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Surrounded by numerous chain-restaurants, we checked out the off-brand name. Service was good, and the food ok.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“You can depend on Shakers for a good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

As an HR Director for a local company, I often have business associates or applicants that I need to entertain for lunch. My first choice is always Shakers because I have found that I can always depend on them for a good meal and good service. Because of the variety of their menu, I'm also comfortable that my guest will ALWAYS be able to find something that they like on the menu.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food in a convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

We have eaten at Shakers several times.This restaurant has an extensive menu and everything we have tried has been delicious. The servings are very generous. Service is excellent. It is on the Valley View Mall property and is convenient to a number of hotels also on the property.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Dependable good meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We dropped in for supper on a snowy March evening prior to attending a show. Was not crowded at all and somehow they managed to be fully staffed, in spite of the poor weather forecasts.

We've eaten here on many occasions. It's another nice family restaurant with a standard Shaker's menu, alcohol and wifi.

Service was friendly and efficient. I had their ribs special, my wife had their Hawaiian Tenderloin. Our tab came to $31 including a pint of beer.

The ribs literally fell off the bones - they may have been a tad overcooked, but otherwise nice. Could have used more barbq flavoring/sauce.

Great location. We use it when going to the airport, to concerts in town and when shopping at Valley View Mall. Always great service.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“soup and a somewhat brown salad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

I chose Shakers for a quick late salad and soup combo. The server was attentive, even chatty about the people preparing the food. The potato soup was a bit thick but just average. The salad had about a half of its content as brown tinged lettuce. Had I known they did not have fresh greens, I would have skipped the salad. At least the soup was served hot, and relatively quick.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakers Good Food & Drink also viewed

 
Roanoke, VA
 

Been to Shakers Good Food & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakers Good Food & Drink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.